Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Quiet weekend September 11, 2010

Evening blogaroonies!  I hope you all had a wonderful Saturday :)

This has been a QUIET day at the Hoge Runs household.  Last night C and I went to Carl’s Jr for dinner, I know…fast food burgers, the horror!  Their french fries are like crack though…yummmmmmm :)  After dinner we hit up Costco for our mega-grocery shop and ended up finding some great deals, including a 6 pack of Pur water filters for $41.99 (after an in-store coupon).  At Target, one filter is about $20 and a 3 pack is $37.99!  Not bad Costco, not bad!  When we got home I caught up on the week in celebrity gossip – we subscribe to a number of magazines using maghound.com and I’m so glad we do.  On Friday nights I get Entertainment Weekly, Us Weekly and People then throughout the rest of the month I get Vegetarian Times and either Food Network Magazine or Every Day with Rachel Ray depending on which has an issue that month.  Chris also gets 2 “gamer” magazines through the service and we pay $22 a month.  For a magazine addict like me, totally worth it, and much cheaper than buying in the store!  Plus, you can change your subscriptions at any time, and set up substitute choices for off-months so you’ll always get a magazine.  Anywho…yep, we love it ;)

It was a crazy Friday night in the ‘burbs and I stayed up til the late-late hour of 11pm, I know…I need to get that under control :P  I told Chris I was getting up at 7 this morning and he said no, you’ll get up at 9:30.  Sure enough, I woke up naturally at 6:55 and thought it was too cold to get up (it’s been getting down into the upper 40s at night!) and ended up sleeping til 9:30.  Whoops!  Chris knows me all too well :)  When I finally did get up I was out the door in a flash, on a mission to find the perfect wool pea-coat for fall/winter.  I ended up going to 2 TJ Maxx’s, a Ross and an Old Navy.  At TJ Maxx I found the Calvin Klein jacket I’d been lusting over in my size, but they only had it in black and I wanted something fun/that wouldn’t act as a lint magnet.  I wasn’t about to spend $80 on something I wasn’t 100% satisfied with!  At Ross, I found a great Michael Kors jacket in purple but it was a bit on the cropped side and with a more well-endowed upper body cropped = line backer.  Finally at Old Navy I found this little gem, and for only $60!  Looking on-line this evening I saw they also have a navy and a great green color that they didn’t have in the store.  Hmmm….

(Source)

What do you think?  The color is called “golden gate” and C and I decided it’s like a deep grapefruit/burnt orange, definitely not a true-orange/pumpkin color.  Earlier this summer I knitted a tan/cream colored scarf using bamboo fiber yarn and a matching hat in brown/cream and I think it will look great against this jacket.  I’ll have to post pictures of those projects tomorrow!

The coat hunt took about 2 hours and I then needed to tackle the regular grocery stuff – yogurt, Larabars, milk, etc.  Low and behold when I got home a miracle occurred!  I am a big believer in Saturday naps (or Sunday naps post-long run, obviously) and after we ate lunch (natural un-cured hot dogs, Kettle Chips and apple slices) Chris said “I think we should take a nap.”  Um, come again?  Chris NEVER naps, he’s like a 5 year old who thinks he’ll miss something if he falls asleep in the middle of the day, but I love taking naps together, especially when it’s a perfect 72 degrees outside.  I think it’s just having extra cuddle time that makes me like naps together, we’re always passing each other on the go during the week and it’s nice to have a couple hours with no phones, no work and nowhere else to go.  We ended up crashing out for about 2 hours and now are just chillaxing around the apartment.  I am going to work some more on the throw I’m crocheting for the living room, but need another ball of yarn and the idea of walking downstairs (our unit is 2 stories with a “mud room” and storage room on the lower level then 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms/kitchen/living room/laundry on the upper floor) just doesn’t sound appealing.  Complain, complain, complain, I know ;)

What have you been up to today?  Any big plans for tomorrow?  C and I are contemplating a game of Frisbee golf, here’s hoping it’s another beautiful day and the course is free!  And of course, the true blood finale is tomorrow night, eek!!

 

5 Responses to “Quiet weekend”

  1. omg that is an awesome jacket! i <3 old navy :)

    a quiet weekend is totally what i need too. enjoy the rest of it :)

  2. divasrun Says:

    I like the Golden Gate!

  3. lizzyj1305 Says:

    LOVE this color for fall!!!
    I hope your week is off to a great start!
    xoxo!

  4. biz319 Says:

    I’ve never been to a Carl, Jr., but I can imagine their fries are like crack!

    Love, love, love the color of that jacket!

  5. palmer216 Says:

    I’ve never been to a Carl, Jr., but I can imagine their fries are like crack!
    +1


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.