Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Getting Started… September 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 9:15 pm

Today is the first day of my blog!  I’m excited about being able to keep a log of my daily activities and adventures and share them with everyone.  First, a little background on myself.  I’m in my mid-20s and live in Colorado with my wonderful husband Chris.  I’m an accountant by trade and am a runner, foodie, reader, movie-and-music-and-animal lover on the side.  I love to do crafty things, I can crochet and can knit, kind of.  If you call a straight line of stitches that took an hour to complete knitting 🙂  I love to travel, my most recent trip was to San Francisco for my one year wedding annivesary.  Here we are enjoying our evening on Alcatraz…don’t mind our crazy eyes, we were freezing and it was pitch black out – so the flash made us look extra “awake.” 😀

6536_560796192973_20202660_33226216_4781263_n

Running background:  I started running during the spring of 1999 as a freshman in high school (I’m not counting all the field days in elementary and middle school, lol).  I went out for the track team and ran the 800, 1600 and 3200 meter runs.  And I came in last, dead last, almost every race.  My sophomore year was much of the same…but this time I came in 2nd or 3rd from last.  By my junior year I realized that running was where my heart was sportswise, and that I was just not coordinated enough to continue playing volleyball, so I went out for the cross country team.  I loved it!  All of a sudden a whole new world of team camaraderie and hard work was opened up to me and I was hooked.  Something about getting off the track and onto the trails truly opened my heart to the sport and I was actually running…dare I say it, fast?!  My junior and senior years of track and cross country were amazing.  I qualified for state with my team and cut down my 5k PR to 20:38.

In college, I was a walk-on for the University of Denver cross country team…and lasted through the first week of training camp before throwing in the towel.  Some of the team thrived under the different coaching style and increased mileage but after coming into running in a small town as part of a very small cross country/track team with a very personable coach, I felt adrift and like my body just wasn’t going to make it.  So I quit.  The cross country program at DU was actually cancelled after that season. There are days when I still regret that decision, but, it was what it was and I fell out of love with running for a while after that.  I just felt so lost!  I ended up finding running again, for a while at least, toward the end of my freshman year at DU and ran my first, and fasted 1/2 marathon in 2:08.  Throughout college I had a love/hate relationship with running, I loved that I could get out and work out all my stress, but I hated that I wasn’t racing or part of a team.  My senior year I struggled with food issues and essentially gave up on running in favor of lifting weights, high intensity time on the cardio machines, and extremely limiting my calorie intake.  It was a dark time for my running shoes, and my life.

Throughout 2005 and 2006, running and I had a very sporadic relationship at best…in 2006 I was diagnosed with asthma and after moving in with my now husband, I realized I couldn’t even run a mile without walking.  Time, working too much, and not taking care of myself had taken a toll and I was really afraid I would never run even a 5k race again.  I kept working and in 2007 and 2008 I raced every other month or so, slowly building back up to being able to run a full 10k without walk breaks.  It was such a humbling time, to go from being a relatively fast high schooler, to a very fit college student…to being a brand new runner again.  2009 has been an amazing year so far running wise.  In May I ran the Greenland Trail 25k race in just over 3 hours and really felt like I was “back.”  I may not be as fast as I once was, or as thin, but I am as fit as ever…if not more so, and happy!  I’m currently in week 14 of training for the Denver Marathon on October 18th and when I finished my first 20 mile training run a couple weeks ago, there were tears in my eyes thinking back on how far I’ve come over the last 10 years, and how far I will go in the future. .

Ok, that’s enough for now.  I’m sure I’ve talked your ear (or eyes?) off and will be sure to fill you in on more of my history with other topics as the blog grows!

 

One Response to “Getting Started…”

  1. Chris H Says:

    I love your story hun. Keep up the good blog writing. 🙂


Leave a Reply

