Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Finally Friday! September 25, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 2:52 pm

Good morning world!  I really need to work on being a studios food blogger as I forgot my camera today to photograph eats (but am going to attempt to do so with my camera phone, hmmmm) and also didn’t have a chance to upload dinner pics last night (and it was delish) because of the 2 hour Grey’s season premiere!  I need to take our old camera and some extra batteries and just leave them in my tote to carry during the day.

I’m torn on Grey’s last night, I didn’t cry, mainly because I knew what the outcome of last season’s cliffhanger was going to be – and I’m a little jaded on the season anyway knowing that Katherine Heighl and Ellen Pompeo will be gone for a number of episodes for maternity leave.  So, I’m interested to see where the season goes and am still loving the Yang/Owen story, swoon!

In addition to Grey’s last night I worked in a 3 mile run, it was beautiful weather – our outdoor thermometer said 46, but I was perfectly comfortable in workout capris and a short-sleeved top.  I was able to knock out 3 miles in 29:56, sometimes it feels good to just “go” instead of monitoring my speed to reserve energy like I have to do on my long runs.  I’m actually looking forward to running some short races this winter after the marathon, first up will be the United Way Turkey Trot!  I also really love the winter distance series at Chatfield State Park…so those will probably be my December – February races.

Dinner last night was really, really good.  I made a “small” 3 pound ham for Chris and I on Sunday, Chris LOVES ham, and we’ve been eating it in different variations all week.  One night was ham with mashed potatoes, corn on the cob and salad.  Another night was ham and cheese omlettes and panakes.  Last night was grilled ham and cheese sandwiches.  I switched things up a little and made our sandwiches on Arnold’s Sandwich Thins that we had in the freezer.  I grilled the bottom of each thin and heated up some ham in the frying pan, then layered the ham and slices of Tillamook sharp cheddar cheese on the thin bottom and placed them under the broiler for about 5 minutes until they were hot and bubbly.  Then I topped Chris’ sandwich with a grilled thin top and added Frank’s Red Hot, grilled mushrooms and avocado to my sandwich.  We also split the last ear of corn on the cob and had some Newman’s Own chunky salsa with Mission tortilla chips (the chips were on sale for $1 a bag at our grocery store!).  Dessert was some candy corn and mellowcreme pumpkins…definitely my favorite halloween candy!

IMG_0576

IMG_0578

Enjoy your Friday!

 

2 Responses to “Finally Friday!”

  1. ellenrunsnyc Says:

    Ah! you be a blogging!! I love it!!

    We are obviously on the same grey’s wave length!

    Good luck on your 20 tomorrow!!

    Ellen

    • Chris Says:

      Dinner was great last night. I always fear when she yells that she is trying something different but I have yet to get something bad. It always turns out fantastic.


Leave a Reply

