Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Lazy Saturday :) September 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 5:43 pm

Catching up on some eats from last night, I had a yummy iced soy cinnamon dolce latte at Starbucks to perk me up…Friday afternoons are so hard to stay awake! I’ve been trying to break my Starbucks and general coffee addiction (and even quit cold turkey for about 2-3 months) as it’s an expensive habit, I have issues sleeping if I have too much caffeine, and I know that the majority of coffee chains do not use antibiotic free organic milk…so choosing soy milk yesterday was my compromise, because if I didn’t have Starbucks I was going to hit the free soda machine 🙂 I think the soy milk added just an extra hint of sweetness and the drink was just like dessert…and definitely perked me up for the evening!

Photo-0017

Friday is grocery night in our house so we usually eat a quick dinner out. Last night we had a coupon for buy-one-get-one sandwiches at Quizno’s, so we obviously took advantage of that. I got a regular sized Cabo Turkey Club and covered every inch of it in banana peppers (maybe a few too many as my mouth was burning by the time I finished), I love this sandwich, definitely my favorite. On the side I had a raspberry lemonade (unpictured).

Photo-0018

Grocery shopping on Friday nights is such a tradition in our house, it’s so much more relaxing to hit up the stores when everyone’s out on a date, lol. Last night we just had a few things to pick up so we went to Super Target – they have a great selection of organic products and the prices are right. I did notice yesterday that the price of the Archer Farms organic brand (Target’s “store brand” I think) was generally more expensive than the name brands! For instance, we bought 16 ounces of organic chunky Adams brand peanut butter for about $3.99. The Archer Farms 12 ounce jar of organic chunky PB was $4.99! I can’t wait to put the PB to use this afternoon (or tomorrow) and whip up some Montana Whoppers, they’ve been all over the blog world lately and look delish. I also picked up some bright colored sticky notes to start posting Operation Beautiful messages around town. This is such a great site and congratulations to creator Caitlin who just scored an Operation Beautiful book deal!!

The rest of our Friday evening was spent watching True Blood re-runs, Chris fought me for so long on watching this show…and now he’s addicted!  We’re 3 or 4 episodes into Season 2 and I love knowing what’s going to happen next, while he’s left to wonder!  I’m still torn on who I like better – Bill or Eric.  I read the first 7 books in the Sookie Stackhouse series and can’t wait to see how the show handles the Bill/Sookie/Eric situation in the third season.

true-blood-vampire-eric-hotter--large-msg-125183230744

This morning I slept in til 9:30 and then laid in bed enjoying the cool fall morning for another 30 minutes before realizing there was some grumbly in my tumbly and it was time for breakfast.  I whipped up some chocolate chip pancakes for hubby and I with a mozarella and ham omlette on the side (ham?  surprise, surprise…I am really hoping Chris is able to finish it off soon, this is the 4th or 5th ham meal this week I think!).  I think I wasn’t quite awake as my pictures turned out super fuzzy, but you can get the general idea.  I used 2x the amount of chocolate chips the directions suggested and the cakes were delightfully decadent.

Photo-0020Photo-0022-1I’m not sure what the rest of the day holds today.  At some point this weekend I “need” to make cookies, and I actually do need to make bread, we’ll see if that happens today or tomorrow.  This evening I”m heading downtown for dinner at the Cheesecake Factory with some friends – can’t wait!

Hope you are all having a great lazy, or busy, Saturday morning!

 

Leave a Reply

