Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Almost time for Dexter! September 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 10:54 pm

Finally, the wait for Dexter season 4 is almost over!  See you soon Michael C. Hall!

293.hall.dexter.022108Yesterday got fairly busy and I wasn’t able to make it back to post.  I was up to my elbows in dough!  First, I mixed up a batch of the Montana Whoppers I mentioned yesterday, and they didn’t disappoint!  I definitely need a stronger spoon for the next time I make them though.  Then, I made two batches of focaccio bread, one turned out beautiful and perfect:

little breadThe other, um, not so much?  I really need to work on my fractions, I don’t think this is what the recipe had in mind when it said to tear the dough in half and form 2 equal sized loaves.

big breadNeedless to say, I love baking our own bread so we get delicious sandwiches throughout the week without tons of sugar, salt and preservatives.

The rest of yesterday was spent getting ready for and attending a bachelorette party downtown at the Cheesecake Factory.  While getting ready, I snacked on a Kashi TLC Baked Apple Spice bar, some cherry tomatoes, a snack sized container of hummus and a Babybel cheese.  We had eaten breakfast late, so these were perfect to hold me over til dinner.

cheesesnack

I didn’t take a picture of my chicken and avocado club, but I wish I had!  It was really yummy, served on toast with an herbed mayo.  Yum!!  I was sad that we didn’t have cheesecake, and after everyone headed on to the bars I waited at the bakery for 10 minutes trying to get some to bring home for hubby and I…but the servers didn’t seem to see me and angry people with kids kept cutting in front of me.  Boo that!  So, hubby and I hit up our 2nd favorite Chinese food restaurant and he had Sesame Chicken for dinner and I got some crab-cheese wontons with spicy mustard and sweet/sour sauce for a late night snack.  Again, I totally spaced taking a picture!  I did steal a couple pieces of hubby’s chicken…so good!  I always forget how much I love Chinese food til we have it 🙂 We ended the evening with an episode of True Blood, Bill’s maker just showed up and things are going to get interesting (that’s what I tell Chris whenever he asks for spoilers, lol).

This morning I woke up bright and semi-early at 7 and headed out for 16 miles, I had 2 8-ounce bottles of water, 2 8-ounce bottles of strawberry Gatorade and 2 packs of Gu in my fuel belt (strawberry banana and vanilla) and had stowed an extra bottle of water and gatorade and 2 more packs of Gu in the back of our car for a mid-run pitstop.  I headed out toward a nearby reservoir for the first 10 miles of the run and things were going pretty well, it was super sunny this morning so even though it was only 70 degrees it felt a ton hotter with no shade to be seen.  I stopped around 7 miles for a short walk break and to remove the bandage on my left pinkie toe…the blister has pretty much calloused over, but now my toe nail seems to be disintegrating!  Gross, but true.   After that I cruised until about mile 9.65 when I realized my stomach was NOT happy about something, I was reduced to walking the last .70 miles to our apartment and hightailed it to the bathroom.  After that pit stop I had the option of a) heading back out for 5.5 miles in the sun or b) showering, having a big glass of ice water and going out to lunch with the hubby.  Um, yeah, B it was.  Next weekend’s my last 20 miler and I know my legs are ready for that and the marathon…but today just wasn’t meant to be.  I can’t beat myself up over one shortened run, or else I’d totally lose sight of the joy of running 🙂

So…as choice B said, I showered, had 2 big glasses of ice water and hubby and I headed to Quizno’s for lunch, where I had another Cabo Turkey Sandwich and realized that it was the sandwich I used to love when I traveled to CA for work at my old company!  And they finally brought it to CO…nearly 3 years later.  I had raspberry lemonade, but it was a little less tart today…still managed to drink a ton of it though 🙂  And had a 1/2 bag of Cheeto’s on the side.  Yum!  Which reminds me I think hubby and I’s 1/2 bags are still sitting in the car…hmm, ew?  After lunch we headed over to hubby’s parents’ house and were pleasantly surprised to see our niece!  I of course hogged her while she was awake and happy then handed her off to hubby just in time for her to get fussy.  It is so neat to watch her grow and change, she’s making expressions now and I can’t wait for her to get older so we can spoil her rotten 🙂

After visiting for a while it was time to head home, and nap time was calling!  I slept about 2.5 hours off and on, and it felt so nice…definitely the best part of long-run day.  I just had a snack of a Babybel cheese, a Horizon Organic Strawberry milk single and a Montana Whopper.  Dinner tonight is going to be Killer Turkey Burgers and fries (hehe, just made that up) in honor of Dexter.  Off to fold some laundry!

cheese 1IMG_0598IMG_0603

 

Leave a Reply

