Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Hello Taper! October 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 2:33 pm

That’s right, it’s taper time!  Hard to believe I set out on this marathon journey almost 16 weeks ago.  I started out just planning to run another 1/2 marathon, but about 1/2 way through that program I realized I wanted to run the full marathon.  And, knock on wood, it appears this third time training will be the one to stick.  I’ve made it through hundreds of miles without major injury (my poor baby toe excluded) and can’t wait for the big day.  Of course I’d like to finish at or under my goal time (around 5 hours), but if I come in at 5:59:59 (the marathon cut-off is 6 hours), then I still finished my first marathon and that’s really all that matters.  This week and next week are really easy runs, mainly just keeping my legs loose but letting them recover.  Yesterday’s 20 miler was hard – I pushed and was able to knock it out in 3:56:27 with quite a bit left in the tank, so today is a really easy rest day, definitely planning on some type of stretching tonight.

Now, for a recap on the last few days eats.  There were some hits (sweet potato brownies) and some misses (sweet potato gnocchi)…all in all an adventuresome weekend!  I picked up a new cookbook and can’t wait to try out a lot of the recipes!

Hang on – this is going to be a bit of a hodge podge!

Going back to Thursday, I snacked on some of these – they were surprisingly addictive, and reminded me of sour cream and onion Pringles!

nutsThursday evening hubby and I picked up Papa Murphy’s take-and-bake pizza (with a $2 off coupon, woot) and enjoyed this on Thursday night and Friday for lunch – we get a 1/2 Hawaiian 1/2 pepperoni pizza and had cheesy breadsticks and split salad on the side.  All washed down with some Simply Limeade (yum, yum, yum). The salad was good – but was missing the Roma tomatoes that were listed on the ingredients….boo!!

pizza

salad

limeadeDinner last night was a fiasco.  I tried a sweet potato gnocchi recipe from Clean Eating magazine and I don’t know what went wrong – but it totally didn’t work!  I don’t know if I used the wrong kind of potato (it was 1 part sweet potato to 2 parts regular potato) or too much flour or what…but something went horribly wrong.  I’ll post a picture tonight of the result, but the recipe said it would make 90-100 teaspoon sized gnocchi…mine made 23!!  Whoops!  Thank goodness I decided to make some turkey meatballs to go with the gnocchi – or else we wouldn’t have had anything to eat!  I mixed ground turkey with 1 egg, some mashed up Ritz crackers and all these spices.

spices

I seared the meatballs in a hot pan (with my new Crisco Olive Oil cooking spray) so they had a nice brown color on all the sides then baked them at 450 for about 20 minutes until the meat thermometer read 170 (it says 165 for poultry, but I’m scared of undercooked meat and always go for 5 degrees over).  We ate the meatballs with some mozzarella cheese and spaghetti sauce in Italian Herb Flat Out Wraps.  Yum!  Hubby and I each had 1 and 1/2 wraps and split the leftover cheesey bread from Thursday night on the side. We also had our first red pear with dinner.

dinner

pearsThroughout the weekend I snacked on these – the caramel kisses I purchased last week and pumpkin spice and candy corn kisses picked up at the grocery store.  Yum!

kissesSince nothing seemed to go quite right in the kitchen yesterday, I shouldn’t have been surprised when my bread came out of the oven looking more like a lopsided snail than a perfect loaf – at least it tastes good! I used a little less honey than the recipe called for and the result was a honey-whole wheat bread that’s not uber sweet…can’t wait to use this for sandwiches this week!

breadI’ll leave you with one of my favorite kitchen helpers – my “egg” timer – get it?  Have a great Monday everyone!!

timer

 

Leave a Reply

