Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Whoops… October 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 2:08 pm

I really did mean to come back last night and post, just like I really meant to wake up at 5 to go running this morning.  But, needless to say, last night I got wrapped up in the So You Think You Can Dance auditions and this morning I did totally make it out of bed for about 10 seconds before realizing I just wanted to use my 3rd rest day (my training plan is 4 days running 3 days rest) today, so there!  Tomorrow I have decided will be shifting back to my “winter” training schedule of getting up at 4:30 am to get to the gym and get a treadmill, there are 3 or 4 women who show up around 5am to walk on the treadmills, watch Turner Classic Movies and talk, loudly…so the only chance I have is going uber-early.  Sucky…but at least then I’m up and can get it out of the way.  Funny that the last 6 runs of marathon training are the hardest to convince myself to do!  I think it’s because they’re “fluff” miles to keep my legs moving and let my muscles recover before the race next weekend.  I’m starting to have pre-race butterflies!

Back to eats, yesterday my big bowl o’ oats kept me full until almost 11, when I had a snack of cherry tomatoes, hummus and a Babybel cheese.  I was going to have carrots and eat my tomatoes later in the day…but as you can see in the picture, they were frozen solid!

snack

carrotsLunch was an almond butter & jelly sandwich on honey wheat bread…but my camera ate it.  On the side I had a cup of peach yogurt.

yogurt

Before heading home I snacked on some chocolate covered almonds, sea salt macademia nuts and dried mango.  I also had one each of the candy corn, pumpkin spice and caramel filled kisses.

nuts and fruit

kissesWhile cooking dinner last night, I nibbled on a few more cherry tomatoes (I have to get through my giant box from Costco before they spoil and Chris hates tomatoes).

tomatoesDinner was really good – I made shake-and-bake pork chops in the oven and on the side we had corn on the cob, macaroni and cheese and grapes.  We had planned on having edamame on the side instead of corn, but when I opened the bag (I had bought a different brand than normal) they were all spotty and brown.  Yuck!! This was also our last bag of macaroni…must stock up before the next mac-and-cheese craving hits!

dinner

corn

grapes

For dessert, Chris and I split these chocolates – they are a 60% dark chocolate with caramel, a white chocolate with vanilla bean and a milk chocolate with almonds.  I think we were tied between the dark chocolate/caramel and the milk chocolate/almond.  The white was ok…but just a little like licking a bottle of vanilla.  We decided the best chocolate would be a dark chocolate/caramel/almond, Ghirardelli, if you could get on that, it would be great! I also snacked on an unpictured Babybel while watching SYTYCD.

chocolateBreakfast this morning is much the same as yesterday, but not quite as yummy.  I’m trying to finish the box of Ocean Spray oatmeal and this morning grabbed 2 packets of cranberry orange muffin flavor, which is good on it’s own.  I added raisins, a few dark chocolate chips, a few PB chips, a banana and hot water.  I also added a packet of Justin’s cinnamon peanut butter.  All together it’s good, but not something I’d mix together again.  Just a little too much variety in the bowl 🙂

pb

oats

After seeing what all I ate yesterday, I think my goal today is a teeny bit less chocolate!!  Funny how some days 1 or 2 pieces can turn into 10 and not even realize it 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Whoops…”

  1. ellenrunsnyc Says:

    So I eat Justin’s honey squeeze peanut butter on my long runs, but I have never seen the cinnamon?! I am so jealous!!! Do they have any other flavors?! I only have the honey and plain here. Also how are the pumpkin kisses?! I might need to try that out.

    XOXO,
    Ellen

  2. hogeruns Says:

    Ellen – the pumpkin kisses are really, really good! They are really sweet though – so I can only do 1 or 2 before I start to worry about cavities 🙂 lol. The Justin’s nut butters are available on line, they have more flavors of the almond butter than they do PB I think, but I’ve tried the cinnamon PB, honey PB, maple AB and one other flavor of AB that I’m spacing and they are all really good! http://www.justinsnutbutter.com/


Leave a Reply

