Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

2 miles…finally. October 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 2:47 pm

I never thought tapering would be so hard on me, mentally. This week my training plan is really easy – two 2 mile runs, a 5 mile run and an 8 mile run…for a grand total of 17 miles, piece of cake, right? Wrong!! Even though my mileage has been in the 25-30+ range for the last few weeks, and I’ve been training for the marathon for the last 16 weeks, getting out for that 2 mile run to kick off my week of training was like pulling teeth. I finally made myself do it this morning, so I woke up at 4:30 am, threw on my clothes and hit the treadmill (or the dreadmill as I like to call it). I listened to some Jim Croce, Jay Z, 3 Oh! 3 and AC/DC…and then it was over. Seriously, all that dreading and dragging my feet for a run that took 20 minutes? (Ok, 20 minutes, 16 seconds). Funny how the hard runs were something I looked forward to – 20 mile long runs, 8 miles of speedwork before work, no problem – – running 2 miles…eek!!

I feel like I’m starting to have a little bit of “post training depression.” My miles for those first 16 weeks were all leading to something – faster intervals, longer long runs, etc, and now, it’s just “fluff” miles to keep my legs loose for next weekend and that is hard! I am going to try to think of these little runs as a good base for my fall/winter racing season (which will start in November, all short races under 10 miles) as well as preparation for next week’s marathon. Cannot believe the marathon’s only 9 days away all of a sudden!!

Going back to yesterday, I had a few snacks throughout the afternoon – a baby cheese, 1/2 of a Kashi crunchy bar (it was a little too dry) and then a glass of iced tea. I mixed one bag of lemon zinger and one bag of raspberry zinger, steeped in hot water for about 5 minutes then added ice and a straw. Yum! This definitely gives the passion tea lemonade at Starbucks a run for it’s money…and was much cheaper!

cheese

bar

teaDinner last night was so good I devoured it before I could take a picture.  Hubby needed to pick up some carpet cleaner (he inherited an obsession for ridiculously clean carpet from his mother) and we had to do it last night, so we ran to the grocery store, picked up the mail, and then ordered Pizza Hut.  It was so good!  I got a cheese pizza – extra cheese extra sauce and had 2 slices along with a few hot wings on the side.  Needless to say, there was no dessert last night because I was stuffed!  Also, this isn’t breaking a rule in our 30 day of eating at home challenge – we’re just going to swap eating out Friday night, for having pizza last night 🙂

Breakfast this morning is unpictured because it was, well, kind of gross looking.  I tried making Quaker Oats – the kind that come in the tall tube-container.  I assumed that a cup of oats was a good serving size, and the box said to add in 1 and 3/4 cups mil…so I did that, then microwaved just as it instructed.  It came out looking like oatmeal soup!  So gross!!  The oats were swimming in hot milk, I added dark chocolate chips, PB chips, raisins and banana to the oatmeal and it tasted good, but I learned 2 things.  #1 – 1 cup of oats is a lot, try 1/2 a cup next time.  #2 – I think that 3/4 of a cup would be plenty of milk!

It’s so cold here today – only supposed to get into the 40s, so oatmeal was the perfect way to start the day.  Now I’m craving a latte, or a mocha…mmm mocha!  I’m also wearing a very thick, cozy wrap sweater, I found it on sale at Ross last year for $12.  I tried to take a picture, but it’s really hard to take a cute picture of yourself with a camera phone!

me

 

Leave a Reply

