Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

I found something new! October 12, 2009

So, as I mentioned in my morning post, I am trying something new for lunch.  I watched an interesting documentary on PBS Saturday night called Eating.  The documentary essentially suggested that cancer and heart conditions could be reversed through a 100% plant based diet.  The documentary was interesting, and I do not think I will convert to a vegan lifestyle, but the thought of taking meat completely out of my diet is intriguing.  As I’ve mentioned before Chris and I stopped eating red meat about 6 months ago (with the exception of 2 trips to In N’ Out while on vacation in August) and my IBS has really thanked me.  Now, we stick to chicken, pork and turkey and try to purchase meats that come from local, sustain/humane farms.  One thing the narrator of Eating brought up was that limiting meat consumption is good, but you are still adding cholesterol to your body – his example was a fire, if you dump gasoline on it (eating lots of meat and red meat), it will burn…but if you feed it drops of gasoline at a time (ruling out red meat and only eating lean meats/fish, even once a week), it will still burn.

I’m really torn on this idea, I grew up in a meat eating family – it was a main part of our diet, and evennow, I wonder what I’ll do without chicken (lots of our favorite recipes revolve around it).  I also am a bit concerned about the idea of meat replacement products as many contain soy and there has been a lot in the news lately about the potential negative effects of soy intake on women’s health. And, on the other hand – I have had to take a step back a few times recently while preparing meat based meals (last night’s whole chicken included) and calm myself down – because I can’t help think about the animal whom I’m sauteeing/baking/tearing apart for dinner. My extended family is also overwhelmed by hereditary illness – high blood pressure, bad cholesterol, heart attacks, type II diabetes, and various cancers (lung, colon, reproductive, and prostaste). This may not seem like much…but when you can count your entire extended family on both hands – it’s scary!

So, needless to say, I don’t see an easy answer on the vegetarian/not vegetarian question for me, but am going to give it a teeny try to see what I think and how I feel.  Writing out this post I see even more how choosing to live a vegetarian lifestyle to potentially avoid some of my family’s illnesses is a huge change, that could potentially end with me still ending up with a life threatening/altering illness. I’m considering going veg for a time following the marathon this weekend, but really need to put some thought into it and discuss with the husband.

Anyway, all that leads to my lunch today – a Morningstar Farms Chik’n patty and lefotver mac and cheese.  On the side, I have a cup of Stonyfield organic strawberry yogurt.

lunch

yogurt

The patty was good, it had a very similar consistency to a chicken patty and I could totally see myself eating this on a bun instead of a “regular” chicken sandwich.  The only thing I don’t like is that one patty has 25% of the recommended daily sodium intake!  Yikes!!  That seems like a lot for something that only has 140 calories…

What did you have for lunch today?  My lunches are generally full of leftovers, so I love to hear about where people went out to lunch or what concotion they dreamt up to bring in 🙂

 

One Response to “I found something new!”

  1. Annie Says:

    What was the date on your yogurt, out of curiosity? I eat Stonyfield yogurt exclusively, and at first I thought some of the “fruit on the bottom” ones were curdled because they looked lumpy, but it turns out it’s just because it’s so natural (go figure!). You just have to stir it really well, but it will never have that smooth and creamy textures you see in a lot of other yogurts. And Stonyfield is yummy! I had a new “Super Fruits” one today (Strawberry & Pomegranate mmm).


Leave a Reply

