Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Naptime! October 12, 2009

This morning’s run was a teeny bit awful, thank goodness I had my phone and could wait on a bench outside our local library for Chris to come rescue me.  My legs felt like lead, my stomach felt a little off, and the temperature was actually dropping instead of getting warmer!  At least it happened this week instead of during the race next week!

Part of the problem this morning was a combo of drinking last night, which I don’t normally do (and thus probably being extra dehydrated this morning) as well as not having eaten for about 14+ hours before my run!  I waited until 10am to head out since I was waiting to see if it warmed up at all…and neglected to eat anything in that time frame (and instead chose to sleep in).  Anyway, it was all a combo that lead to a crappy run, but, I made it 4 miles and am refusing to beat myself up over it.  The wedding last night was fun!  Chris and I worried the bride would be upset as she’d planned for 70-80 guests (and the reception hall required them to pay a guarantee on 100 people) and only about 30-40 showed up with the weather and flu going around.  We ended up having an entire table to ourselves, but it was positioned directly in front of the fireplace – score!!  Chris and I had never been to a Greek Orthodox wedding before, and it definitely was different.  One of the things that really stuck out to us was that the bride/groom just stand through the wedding facing the priest and do not exchange vows – that the priest just recites scripture and prayer, and that the vows are “implied” and “something the bride/groom should have discussed before coming to the altar.” Another big theme was going forth and multiplying – that was repeated a LOT!  I could go on and on about the service…but I really am getting sleepy and want to get to my nap! So, I’ll fast forward to the reception.

When we got to the reception hall, it was freezing!!  It actually was snowing/freezing rain as we walked around the building to the entrance.  Here is a picture of us before we left our apartment for the ceremony.  I should have taken another showing us all bundled up (well, Chris just wore his suit jacket) – I had on a wool overcoat and a huge scarf wrapped around my neck.  So cold!!! Sorry about the bad lighting, we were having some issues with the auto-timer!

UsHere is a full length shot of my dress – minus my feet, because they are in sad shape at the moment (hello, marathon training) 🙂  I’m not quite sure what I’m doing with my hand either…it kind of looks like a claw!

dressOnce we made it into the reception hall and claimed our seats, we hit the bar and I got a Gin & Tonic with extra limes and Chris got a 7 & 7.  Have you ever tried one before?  Seriously, it could take paint off the walls!! (Warning – there was really low lighting in the reception hall…so these are not high quality pics)

My drink:

ginChris’ drink:

7 and 7We also split this set of crackers and cheese from the appetizer table.

crackersAnd snapped a picture of the centerpiece and favors – aren’t they cute?

centerpiece

hats

Another view of the favors – the bride/groom are very into horses and Western stuff…so cowboy hats were perfect!

hatAfter the bride and groom arrived, we picked up another drink from the bar (they did pictures between the wedding and rehearsal, so we had about 45 minutes in between just waiting).

We both got vodka with cranberry juice.

cranberryDinner was good, but we did make an emergency trip to Taco Bell on the way home since my choices were limited.  The proteins on the buffet were prime rib and salmon…I don’t eat red meat and salmon makes me gag 😦  So, I loaded up on salad, a roll (which had a really weird flavor…I later had 1/2 of Chris’ roll since his was plain), some pineapple and kiwi slices, a little rice and some roasted veggies.  I ended up eating just the salad, fruit, and 1/2 of Chris’ roll because the veggies were cold (which made them kind of slimey) and the rice was a teeny bit crunchy. Overall, it was still better than a lot of the wedding meals we’ve had 🙂

dinnerThe cake came out shortly thereafter and was pretty yummy!  My slice was white cake with a raspberry filling.  The cake was really moist and the filling was a really good not too sweet flavor.  I ended up not finishing the outside of the cake though as the frosting was just too sweet for me.

my cake

Then, everyone toasted the bride and groom – and I got creative with candles to back light my photos.  I took very small sips of my champagne and left about 1/4 of the glass.   I am just not a big champagne person.

champagneAfter the toasts we watched the first few dances and then called it a night.  I finished the book I’d been reading, A Perfect Match by Jodi Picoult and Chris did whatever it is that he does on the computer for hours late at night 🙂 This book was quite haunting I thought, and very deep.

After my run this morning I took a really long, hot shower (my fleece was actually freezing in the areas I had been sweating while running…that’s how cold it was) and then heated up a can of Amy’s No Chicken Noodle soup.  I hadn’t tried this kind before and it was good!  I ended up only eating the broth though as my stomach is still a little off and nothing tastes right.  I also had 1/2 of a cheese sandwich (1 slice Tillamook Cheddar and 1 piece homemade bread) and an English Muffin with Justin’s cinnamon PB and some local honey from Clark’s farms.

Now it’s off to nap, finish laundry, and figure out what to make for dinner.  I’m thinking enchilada casserole – but adding some quinoa or bulgar wheat for extra nutrients 🙂  Back later, I hope everyone has a wonderful, relaxing, Sunday!

 

3 Responses to “Naptime!”

  1. ellenrunsnyc Says:

    your dress is super duper cute!! you and Chris look FABULOUSSS!!

    I love weddings I am always crying during them!

  2. hogeruns Says:

    I made it through the ceremony without crying…but then watching the Father/daughter dance I started sobbing. Not cute, “aww look at my friend dancing with her dad” tears, but like full on bawling!!! It was out of nowhere!

  3. ellenrunsnyc Says:

    The worse is when you are in them and feel the urge to cry, I alway choke up when I look at the groom to see his face when he sees the bride for the first time, I definitely want a picture of that at my wedding. without my husband knowing haha.

    I think I will also cry when I dance with my dad, I am such a daddy’s girl.


Leave a Reply

