Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

4 More Days! October 14, 2009

4 more days til the marathon, yikes!!  I had a great run this morning.  Just an easy 3 miles on the treadmill, I ran the first mile in 11:01 (which included some walking at the beginning of the mile to loosen up and get my I Pod going) and 0% incline.  Mile 2 was at 10:10 and 10:00 pace with a 1% incline and then the third mile I sped up by 10 seconds every 400 meters and then every 5 meters the last lap (ending at an 8 min pace for the last 5 meters).  My final time was 30:34.  I had a really good mix of music this morning – Queen, Jim Croce, Bruce Springsteen, Britney Spears, Jay Z and a couple others I’m spacing.  My taste in music is very eclectic to begin with, but I’m sure if people looked at my running playlists they’d get really confused!!  I do not use my I Pod outside or in races, it’s for the gym only, but I’m thinking of stowing it in my Fuel Belt Sunday as my emergency motivation back up.  We’ll see how full the pockets are and if I have room!

Today will be another busy day, so here’s a quick recap of my eats yesterday and today so far.

Breakfast yesterday was a caramel macchiato and a pumpkin scone from Starbucks.  The scone was good, but a tad on the dry side.

scone

caramel macchiato

Lunch yesterday was a game time decision.  I was really stressed out and not having a very good day and my appetite was nil.  I took a break and walked to the bank, deposited a rebate check we got from our insurance a few weeks ago (we have AllState and get a check every 3 months that we don’t have an accident, sweet!) and then chatted with Chris for a little bit to calm down.  I stopped in the food court of my building on the way back and picked up a chicken burrito with green chili, tomatoes, lettuce, cheese, sour cream, and guac.  It was good, and a reasonable size (I’d say about 1/2 the size of a Chipotle or Qdoba burrito, and contains no rice, just chicken and beans). I also had a Mountain Dew at lunch.  It was one of those days where I felt like if I let myself get sleepy I’d just start crying at my desk!

burrito

soda

Dinner last night was unpictured Quizno’s.  Chris and I both got home late and just weren’t in the mood to cook – even though the only cooking we would have done was open a can of soup.  So, we gave ourselves a free day from the 30 day eat-in challenge 🙂  I of course, had a Cabo Turkey sandwich…with extra banana peppers on wheat.  While we ate we watched 50 Marathons, 50 States, 50 Days about Dean Karnazes’ journey to run a marathon in every state to bring attention to childhood obesity.   I loved Dean’s book Ultramarathon Man and also loved the 50/50/50 book.  They were both really inspirational and I love that Dean’s just a normal guy with extraordinary talent, and provides great “real world” advice for all of us every day runners.  And, the movie had the added bonus of lots of DK with no shirt time…sigh!  Chris watched bits and pieces of the movie, but didn’t seem to be as interested as he was in Sprit of the Marathon last weekend.

I went to bed around 9:30…and fell asleep at 11.  I have bouts of insomnia from time to time that last anywhere from 1 day to a week and they suck!  I have been letting myself hit the snooze and sleep in til 6:10 the last 2 days (so I’d get about 7 hours of sleep) but this morning I just couldn’t fall back asleep and really wanted to run, even though I was exhausted.  So, I got out of bed at 4:45 (alarm went off at 4:30) and was in the gym by 5:50 for my 3M run.

After the gym, I had breakfast with the husband, we both had apple fritter toast from Target’s bakery section with chunky Maranatha almond butter and a glass of Naked OJ.  Yum!  I included a close up of the top of the bread, there are little sugar crystals baked in – very decadent!

breakfast

bread top

On my way into the office I picked up a white mocha from Starbucks.  I’ve been doing so good avoiding coffee, but this week I’m just giving in to temptation 🙂  It doesn’t help that I pass a Peet’s, Starbucks, Ink!, Caribou Coffee, and a Peaberry on my way into work from the train station!

white mocha

Ok, I’ll hopefully be back for a lunchtime post today, if not, definitely tonight!  I hope everyone has a great hump day!

 

Leave a comment