Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Ugh!!! October 15, 2009

This morning’s starting out rough!  Neither Chris nor I wanted to get up this morning, it was dark, the perfect sleeping temperature and this week’s just taking too long.  I actually got a full 8 hours of sleep last night!  My brain was still on over drive when I crawled into bed at 8:30 last night (I know, I’m wild) but I could tell that exhaustion from 3 nights of 5-6 hours of sleep was going to win out…and sure enough, I was out cold within 30 minutes.  I woke up at 4:25 and turned off my alarm, I have one more 3 mile run to get in before the marathon and I wasn’t going to interrupt my first full night’s sleep to do it today!  It will happen tomorrow morning 🙂

Anyway, so, the alarm went off at 5:40 and I threw together our lunches, we ate some toast for breakfast (which I was too sleepy to walk back to our bedroom to get my phone or walk to the den and get the camera to photograph it) and then got ready for work.  I was having a really cute hair day, not too frizzy, not too flat…just perfect.  And then I walked to the car and it was a really pretty morning with the sunrise and a few clouds.  I drove the 1.5 miles to the train station and got out of the car to what appeared to be 20 mile an hour gusts.  And I missed my train by approximately 1 second (like I got to the train and the light turned off and it left)…so I had to wait 5 minutes for the next one in the wind (and wait 5 more minutes for it to leave).  I couldn’t find anything to listen to on my I Pod and just waited quietly for the 35 minute ride to end.  While sitting quietly I pondered why I’m the only woman who rides the train who’s hair moves when it’s windy.  Do they all just shellac their hair with hair spray?  Do I need to use more? Is there a special way to hold my head so my hair is not affected by the wind?  Seriously, I don’t get it!  Does your hair move when it’s windy?

Of course, when I got downtown – no wind!  I walked the 3 blocks to the office and grabbed another white chocolate mocha from Starbucks and headed upstairs.  I ran into a woman from another department on the elevator and we talked about the marathon – she ran the Chicago marathon years ago and is getting back into running now.  She gave me a few tips for Sunday morning (the high was 38 the year she ran Chicago) when it will be in the 40s when we start, and then I walked to the kitchen to put my lunch in the fridge.

I opened the refrigerator door to stick in my bag (I brought a grocery bag to put my lunch in the fridge in, we have a thief who will steal random things out of the fridge and today I brought a “wee brie” that I really didn’t want to go missing) and the fridge was full!  People here bring lunch bags that are really inappropriately sized for a shared space. Like, the reusable grocery bags?  That’s an inappropriate size for a shared fridge – but at least 1 person brings one every day!!  Also, lunch boxes that could hold a 6 pack of bottles?  Probably a teeny bit too big for this environment.  I saw a small opening behind a tupperware and picked up the tupperware to stick my lunch behind it (so that person didn’t think I’d stolen their lunch)…and the lid flew off!  I don’t know if you have seen the mixing bowls at Target/Wal-Mart that are red or blue plastic and have a lid that fits down into the bowl (instead of over the lip of the bowl, like a regular tupperware, if that makes sense) – but they are not meant to be used like this!!  The lids don’t form a seal, so it’s really for just sticking something in the fridge to cool after mixing it.  Needless to say, since I didn’t grab the bowl with both hands the lid, which just sits on the bowl, popped right off and I’m wearing khaki colored slacks so my first thought was to jump out of the way.

Flash forward 5 seconds to spaghetti and sauce ALL over the kitchen floor!!  And of course, this couldn’t happen while I was alone in the kitchen, it happened when 2 other people were there!  The woman who saw it go down was kind of snotty and insinuated it was my fault (ok, partially my fault…but really, that tupperware was not ok for spaghetti of all thigns) but the man who saw it was supportive and said it didn’t look appetizing and he thinks I did that person a favor by dumping it 🙂  I cleaned up the mess, stuck my lunch in the fridge, and left a note on the tupperware saying that I had accidentally dumped their lunch, was very sorry, etc.  I didn’t go so far as to sign my name or offer to buy them lunch….but I’m worrying that I should have!  I just didn’t want them to think I was the lunch thief!

And, that’s my morning in a nutshell.  How is your morning going?  Hopefully better than mine!

For the Grey’s watchers, who do you think is going to be fired tonight??  I’m thinking Izzie, I really thought this would be her last season and now that Katherine Heigl has adopted a baby, I can totally see them cutting this season short, or at least starting to write her out.  What do you think?

 

2 Responses to “Ugh!!!”

  1. triathena Says:

    Eek!!! Sorry about the fridge snafu! That sucks! And yes, my hair moves in the wind. It’s past “the girls”, if you catch my drift, so when it’s down it’s about two feet of hair blowing all over the place! So annoying! (That’s why I wear it up most of the time.)

  2. ellenrunsnyc Says:

    I had one of those days too, I had a pumpkin spiced latter, made the day so much better!

    XOXO,
    Ellen


Leave a Reply

