Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Long Post November 2, 2009

Here we go…here’s a big catch up post of eats from the last few days 🙂

Thursday for breakfast during the blizzard I had a homemade “egg mcmuffin.”  My version had a toasted English Muffin, a slice of Tillamook sharp cheddar, a Morningstar Farms sausage patty and 1 whole egg + 1 white.  Yum!!  I had a big glass of hot cocoa on the side, with extra marshmallows.

breakfast

cocoa

Lunch Thursday was leftover turkey Swedish Meatballs, egg noodles and corn bread. Plus a piece of PB fudge.

lunch

Here’s a close up of the fudge…it was so good and I plan to make more in the future!

fudge

Dinner Thursday night and most of my eats Friday went unpictured…except for this Larabar.  I received a few samples from Lara a couple weeks back and hate to say I wasn’t very impressed with this one. I will try it again in the future, but I just don’t think I was in much of a PB mood Friday afternoon and this bar was a little more dry than the cherry pie/key lime pie flavors.

bar

Friday evening Chris and I had Chick-Fil-A for dinner before doing groceries.  I should have taken a picture of all the groceries I cannot remember the last time we needed so much stuff.  We picked up a big pack of organic chicken breasts, a big pack of organic chicken thighs, two whole organic chickens, a big bottle of EVOO, paper towels, orange juice, apples, milk, eggs, beans, and on and on and on – we hit Costco for the bulk purchases and then picked up the smaller items at Super Target (conveniently located right next door).

While at Costco I did “accidentally” purchase a delicious caramel apple (hey, it WAS Halloween weekend).  I didn’t take a pic of the apple in its whole glory as I was just too excited to dig into it.  The apple consisted of a Granny Smith apple coated in caramel, and then coated again in milk chocolate and drizzled with white chocolate.  So good.  Neither of us were able to finish our half, it was very rich…but the majority of the apple was devoured while watching Married with Children re-runs post grocery extravaganza.

appleSaturday morning I decided to make us a Halloween themed breakfast.  I also really wanted to try an “egg in a hole” which I’ve seen all over the food blog world in recent weeks.  For our breakfast I used 4 slices of whole wheat bread, 4 eggs and 4 slices of Tillamook cheese (for 2 pieces of toast/egg/cheese each).  I cut a Halloween shape out of each slice with cookie cutters, and these shapes were topped with jam to go with our breakfast.

toasts

Here is the ghost toast cooking away in the pan.

cooking

And here is the witch toast, complete with sliced cheese.

toast

The rest of Saturday’s eats went unphotographed, but consisted of no lunch (whoops), a hastily eaten English Muffin mid-afternoon, chicken & noodles with mashed potatoes and peas at my in-laws house in the evening and a late night Taco Bell run post-hockey game Saturday night.  We were both ravenous by the time we got home!!  We went to the homecoming hockey game for my alma mater, the University of Denver and had great seats!  Chris’ boss has season tickets and passed on the tickets for Saturday nights game so Chris, his dad, his sister, and I could all go to the game.  It was a lot of fun, but strange to be sitting in the “grown up” section.  Even stranger to see that the youngest player was born in 1991!!!

Sunday morning we slept in (and relished that extra hour) and picked up some unpictured donuts for breakfast (as well as some items we forgot in Friday night’s mega-grocery shop).  Lunch Sunday should have been pictured, Chris made us nachos with tortilla chips, beans, 3 types of cheese and salsa…they were so good!  Then we took a long nap (quite a luxury in our house, Chris almost never naps with me, so it’s a special treat to get a couple extra hours snuggle time on the weekend).

Last night I “threw together” a baked chicken that I coated with some melted canola oil butter and Emeril’s chicken rub/essence.  I baked the chicken for 1.5 hours at 425 in a “tent.” Prior to baking I filled the bottom of my roasting pan with chicken stock and then tented the chicken so it steamed in the oven and was very juicy.  On the side we had chicken flavored couscous to which I added 2 cups of frozen veggies.

chicken

couscous

Next time I need to un-tent the chicken earlier so the skin crisps – I was so afraid of ending up with dry chicken that I ended up with soggy skin that neither of us could eat.

We also had peaches and a pomegranate on the side.

peaches

pom

 

Finally, dessert last night was homemade triple chocolate pudding…I will never go back to the boxed stuff!!

pudding

It was a little intimidating to be going on and off the heat, whisking away…but now that I’ve tried one recipe I’m excited to start tweaking it to try different pudding varieties!

After dinner last night I folded laundry and watched this week’s episode of the Vampire Diaries.  Did you watch?  I feel like I’m the only 20-something in the country who watches, hehe. Did you see the preview for next week??  Not sure how I feel about that!!  Chris and I also watched Dexter last night, quite a good episode!

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Long Post”

  1. triathena Says:

    Egg in a hole is awesome! I used to make them all the time. My ex-husband called them egg drop sandwiches. LOL. I’m looking forward to getting some samples, nothing has come yet. What recipe did you use for the pudding?

  2. hogeruns Says:

    I’ll post the recipe in a new post! I also just shared it on RWOl 🙂


Leave a Reply

