Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Is it Friday yet? November 3, 2009

This week is long already!!  I was frazzled all day and really cannot wait for my run tomorrow morning to blow off some steam.  So, without further delay, here are my eats from today (hehe).

Around 11:30 lunch was an unpictured PB&J sandwich, baked doritos and a honeycrisp apple (yum, I seriously see what the fuss is about).  Later in the afternoon I couldn’t find a snack that was satisfying…so I grazed.  Around 1 I had about 3/4 of this cup of Fage yogurt with Clark’s honey (I keep a bottle in my desk).

 

yogurt

Around 3 I nibbled on a 100% fruit roll up, I cropped the picture down a ton as I’d already started nibbling when I remembered to take a picture!  We had a box of these on our vacation in August and I really enjoy them – except they are SUPER sticky!

fruit roll up

 

Finally, around 4 I snacked on some chocolate bunny grahams and they finally hit the spot!

bunnies

 

Somewhere in there I also tried to eat some grapes…but each grape had 3+ seeds…so they ended up getting tossed (which I hate to do, but with co-workers and auditors in and out of my cubicle all afternoon I really shouldn’t be spitting seeds :)).

grapes

Dinner tonight was really easy, I had 2 little wraps made from a Honey Wheat Flat Out wrap and leftover roasted chicken from last night.  One wrap had a slice of Tillamook Cheddar and the other had a slice of Tillamook Muenster. I topped each wrap with a little honey mustard and Famous Dave’s BBQ sauce.  On the side I had leftover couscous from last night and some baked beans.

dinner

 

After dinner I had a little pudding from last night – with a dollop of PB and some whipped cream on top.  And then 6 baked sour cream and cheddar ruffles…some days I’m just a bottomless pit!

I realized when I was uploading pictures from the camera that I’d forgotten to share my cranberry adventure with you!  A couple weeks ago I bought 3 pounds of cranberries and am still trying to use them up.  Last weekend was my first “Free” Sunday since 19 weeks ago (pre-marathon training) so I baked up a storm!  I made chocolate covered cranberry cookies, cinnamon-cranberry challah and peanut butter fudge.  The pan of peanut butter fudge was devoured before a good picture could be taken (actually, we ate 1 piece each for a full week…so it lasted quite a while!).  Here are the cookies before and after their chocolate  bath.

cookies

cookies2

They were good…but I don’t know if I’d make this recipe again.  The cookie itself wasn’t very flavorful and they were also too soft to stand up to the chocolate bath.

Here are my loaves of Challah – we still have one loaf in the freezer.

breadThe challah turned out really good, if a little dry.  Next time I may add some honey, or tone down the flour a bit.  Both the cookie and bread recipes can be found on the Ocean Spray website.

Ok, I’m going to publish this and write a quick start to my Progresso review…then it’s bedtime!!!  Have a great night bloggies!

 

3 Responses to “Is it Friday yet?”

  1. triathena Says:

    Delicious!!!! One question!

    Have you ever tried agave nectar on Fage yogurt? It’s so good and agave is really good for you without as much sugar as honey. 🙂 I just tried it recently and it was totally WOW!

  2. hogeruns Says:

    Really? I have some and will have to try it!! I have been using the local honey as a natural allergy remedy actually, there’s some research that suggest ingesting local honey can help prevent/reduce the effects of hay fever and this summer it seemed to work!

  3. Jillian Says:

    Wow! Your challah looks amazing!!! That is one of my all-time favorite kinds of bread!!


Leave a Reply

