Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Progresso and a big surprise! November 3, 2009

I received a great package from Progresso and My Blog Spark a couple weeks ago and with my crazy hours at work and marathon training have been slacking on posting a product review.  I received an awesome gift set from Progresso – a full sized box of chicken broth, a full sized box of their new Panko bread crumbs, a silicone ladle, a silicone slotted spoon, a measuring cup and a baking sheet.  So far we’ve only made 2 meals with these products but I didn’t want to delay the review any longer!

progresso

Here’s a close up of the utensils included in the gift pack:

utensils

For our first attempt at using the Panko bread crumbs, Chris whipped up some homemade chicken nuggets.  We are trying to work overly processed foods out of our diet and these are a great solution to know just what we’re putting in our bodies.  He dredged Coleman organic chicken cubes (we purchase Coleman chicken in bulk at Costco) in egg wash and then coated them in the Panko breadcrumbs (with a little chicken seasoning mixed in) then baked at 400 until cooked through.  We ate them with Annie’s mac & cheese and BBQ sauce. These turned out really good, I love the crunchy texture the Panko gave the nuggets.

nuggets

Next, we made a healthy version of orange chicken using the Progresso chicken broth.  First, we cooked some Coleman chicken in a little EVOO until cooked through, and then coated the chicken in a mix of Panda Express orange sauce (available at Safeway) and Newman’s Own Sesame Ginger dressing and returned to the heat until cooked through. In a separate pan we cooked some rice – but instead of water we used the Progresso chicken broth, and added frozen veggies.  The result was awesome!  Definitely healthier than traditional orange chicken but just as satisfying.

chinese

I am planning on using more of the Panko breadcrumbs over the coming weeks as my work hours return to normal – I’m thinking “fried” chicken (baked in the oven), parmesan chicken, so on…so many options!! I also really enjoyed the flavor of the broth and look forward to trying it in new recipes going forward (like recreating my mother-in-law’s chicken and noodles!)

And now for the surprise…drum roll please…the kind folks over at Progresso and My Blog Spark have very generously offered to provide one Hoge Runs reader with their very own Progresso prize pack!!!  All you have to do to enter is leave a comment below by 9pm Mountain Time on Thursday November 5th with an idea of what you would do with your prize pack – what dream meal would you create with your Panko breadcrumbs and chicken broth?  I will have Chris randomly select a number on Friday morning and will alert the winner during my breakfast post.  Good Luck!!

 

8 Responses to “Progresso and a big surprise!”

  1. triathena Says:

    If I won the giveaway, I’d make chicken strips (baked) with the bread crumbs lightly seasoned with garlic salt mixed with bouillon in an eggwhite batter. The broth would go towards a batch of soup – zucchini puree is a favorite. 🙂 As for the baking sheet, can we say homemade chocolate chip cookies??? Made with whole wheat pastry flour and oats for extra fiber of course!

  2. […] real-dairy to make this coffee tolerable.  Have a fabulous day and don’t forget to enter the Progresso/My Blog Spark contest!   Leave a […]

  3. Sher Says:

    This looks delicious! I can’t believe you take the time to actually post what you eat, but now I’m looking forward to reading (AND EATING) more!!!

    😉

    Sher

    p.s. Now I’m thinking of what I’m going to make for Thanksgiving!

  4. Jillian Says:

    Hey!! I LOVE panko breadcrumbs!! That’s all we ever use. My husband would LOVE this gift pack. And so would I because I would get to eat, I mean reap, the rewards!!!

    This is neat, Sarah!

  5. Sindi Frederick Says:

    I love Planko crumbs! And Progresso chicken broth!

    I would make Chicken Parmasean with the Planko bread crumbs.
    And use the Progresso chicken broth to make homemade chicken noodle soup with fresh vegetables and wheat noodles. Perfect for the upcoming winter months!

    This is great Sarah, thanks!

    Sindi

  6. ellenrunsnyc Says:

    If I won Planko bread crumbs, I would make Charlie is favorite Chicken cutlets. With the broth, I would make an white bean pasta soup with sausage. Think an italian matza ball substitute!

  7. Melissa Says:

    Hey Sarah,
    If I won I’d try to make some parmesan breaded tofu with a mixture of parm cheese, Planko bread crumbs, italian seasoning, and lemon!
    With the chicken broth, I would try to make some butternut squash soup since that’s one of my favorite soups!!
    With the baking sheet, I’d make vegan cookies since I have not baked cookies in over 10 years!
    I’m terrible!!!!

    • hogeruns Says:

      Melissa – I need to send you cookies then…I cannot believe you haven’t baked them in over 10 years!! I am lucky if I go two weeks without baking something sweet!


Leave a Reply

