Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Sarah cooked a little lamb :) November 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 11:10 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This has been a great weekend so far 🙂

Last night Chris and I ate an unpictured dinner at our favorite hole-in-the-wall Italian place.  So good.  I had the Ravioli Parmigiana (Cheese ravioli smothered in tomato sauce and then slices of provolone cheese) with a side salad (bleu cheese on the side).  Chris’ dinner was nearly identical but the cheese slices were replaced with meatballs and the bleu cheese was replaced with Italian dressing. We also split the little “loaf” of complimentary garlic bread (about the size of a regular slice of bread, but thicker and covered in garlic). After dinner we picked up groceries at Target and as soon as we got home I finished reading My Sister’s Keeper.  This was such a good book and I can’t wait to see the movie!

Speaking of movies, did I mention I printed our tickets for New Moon?!?!  Saturday November 21st at 10am…exciting!!!

Today has been a half lazy half busy day.  We stayed up til about 12:30 last night so sleeping in was in order this morning.  Then we each had a bagel for breakfast (whole wheat with whipped cream cheese) and later on Chris made us nachos for lunch. Chris’ cousin Mikayla is having her first baby next month and her baby shower was today, so that’s where I spent my afternoon. I was really proud of myself as I managed to drive to a place I’d never been before, walk into a house that was half-full of people I’d never met before, and actually enjoy myself!  Take that GAD, who’s the boss now?!  😀  Big groups/new places are two of my big anxiety triggers and I had some shallow breathing/elevated heart rate at the beginning of the outing, but I dealt with it.  I forced myself to take normal breaths, I smiled at the person who opened the door, poured myself a glass of lemonade and found my sister-in-law, mother-in-law and niece to sit with…and felt as normal as I think I am capable of in such a setting. I know it may not seem like much as I knew a number of the people there, but to think back over the years since I was diagnosed with GAD and all the years before and how paralyzed with fear I was…today was a big step, and I have come so far over the last few years. I did abstain from snacking/cake at the shower since I was still slightly full from lunch.

Enough rambling…after the baby shower, I was feeling adventurous and inspired and went to Whole Paycheck Foods and picked up a smorgasbord of delicious food items. I told Chris I felt very metropolitan (as opposed to rural and/or suburban, like normal) by stopping in to pick up just items for tonight (and a few for tomorrow). Into my cart I threw:

1 small container of mixed fruit (grapes, berries and melon)

1 small container of fresh mozarella

3 small wedges of aged Tillamook sharp white cheddar

2 lamb chops (locally and organically raised)

12 challah rolls

1 giant bag of organic locally grown potatoes

1 package of pre-made shrimp cocktail

1 pack of gum (peppermint vanilla flavor)

1 box of Celestial Seasonings Roastaroma tea (smells really, really good)

1 small container of olives from the antipasti bar

1 GIANT locally/organically grown beefsteak tomato

1 package of sliced mushrooms

2 bottles of Sweet Leaf Tea (Whole Foods was having a tea tasting day and the Sweet Leaf teas were buy one get one free so I got one half tea/half lemonade and one peach tea, peach is my new favorite)

Phew…I think that’s it.

When I got home I grabbed the box of Progresso Panko Breadrumbs (leftover from the My Blog Spark/Progresso package I received a couple weeks ago) and mixed some crumbs and some Emeril’s Essence in a shallow bowl. I heated up a saute pan on the stove with about a tablespoon of butter and set the oven to 400. While the pan/oven were heating I moistened each of the chops and then dredged them in the crumb/seasoning mixture. I browned the chops in the butter and then baked at 400 for 25 minutes, covered with aluminum foil. While the chops were baking I boiled a few potatoes.

Then, I cranked up the heat to 475 and baked for 15 more minutes to reach an internal temp of 170 degrees (appropriate, per my handy dandy meat thermometer). I removed the lamb from the oven and while it was resting I made the mashed potatoes. I drained the boiled potatoes and added a dash of heavy cream, a little butter and some grated cheddar and sharp white cheddar Tillamook cheese. I also heated up a can of sweet peas for some “green.”

Dinner was so good.  We don’t normally have such an elaborate meal, but I really felt we deserved it 🙂 I really don’t know why my potatoes look so yellow in the picture below, I was obviously having some lighting issues!  Without the flash it was too dark, with the flash, it was distorted.  Must keep working on that.  All together, dinner consisted of a lamb chop, a scoop of potatoes, peas, some shrimp cocktail, some fruit, and two rolls.  I was stuffed…but in a good way.

dinner

fruit

shrimp

Dessert (I know, how did we have room??) was a brownie that Chris had baked earlier today (I love him!!).  This dinner was so luxurious, I think that I will try to cook something “fancy” like this for us once a month or so in the future, just for a special treat without having to eat out. The lamb was pricey, so I think next time I’ll try the “lamb shoulder chop” which was only $6.99/pound compared to the $17.99/pound for the type I got tonight!!  I hadn’t made lamb before, so I wanted to try the most expensive kind they had…in hopes that I’d at least be saved by the “expensive” taste if my seasoning idea didn’t work, lol. I think that if we get the shrimp cocktail in the future we’ll just purchase shrimp from the fish monger section of Whole Foods and make our own cocktail sauce as the sauce that came in the package was HOT.  I like spicy stuff, but this was super, super intense. Chris was a trooper to eat it as he does not like spicy stuff at all.

Other than eating, this weekend will also include some running!  Tomorrow is World Run Day and I will be running 6-8 miles, depending on how my legs are feeling. I think World Run Day is a great idea, and I love that I get a race tee shirt, but can wake up and run on my own 🙂

Speaking of running, I had an AWESOME interval workout on Thursday which I haven’t posted about yet.  I was talking with the girls in my running group, and someone mentioned “ladders” which took me right back to my high school cross country/track years. Ladders seemed like an evil invention of torture at the time, but this week I realized they are a great way to break up speedwork while I’m running on the treadmill through the winter.  Instead of doing mile/half-mile/quarter mile repeats on the ‘mill, occasionally I’ll break things up and run ladders. Since this was my first speedwork in about 3 weeks, I took it relatively easy and did the following:

1/2M warm up (6:18)

200m fast (0:57)

200m slow (1:28)

400m fast (2:16)

400m slow (2:58)

800m fast (4:32)

800m slow (6:02)

800m fast (4:25)

800m slow (5:58)

400m fast (2:02)

400m slow (2:57)

400m fast (2:00)

400m slow (3:15)

200m fast (0:52)

200m slow (1:30)

1/2M cooldown (9:52 – walked to bring heart rate down and cool down since I have to eat breakfast directly after speedwork to make it to work on time, and that’s not pretty/possible if I’m not totally cool)

This workout was a total of 5 miles and was helped along by a great playlist (please don’t laugh/judge my selections, lol) these songs weren’t necessarily played all the way through – I hate the last little bit of a song when the words are over and it’s just a guitar/drum solo :):
Warm-up:

All Summer Long – Kid Rock

Big Green Tractor – Jason Aldean

Intervals:

Sold (The Grundy County Auction) – John Michael Montgomery

Party in the U.S.A – Miley Cyrus

If You’re Wondering – Weezer

Take Me Out – Franz Ferdinand

Evacuate the Dancefloor – Cascada

You Don’t Mess Around with Jim – Jim Croce

Bad, Bad Leroy Brown – Jim Croce

Lose Yourself – Eminem

Single Ladies – Beyonce

Cool-down:

Amie – Pure Prairie League

Making Plans – Miranda Lambert

Take Me Out to a Dancehall – Pat Green

I don’t normally run with an I Pod outside, but on the treadmill it makes all the difference for me to sing along to a catchy song, instead of just listening to the gym noise!

Ok, now it’s after 11 and I’m having trouble making coherent sentences/typing/keeping my eyes open.  I hope you all had a wonderful Saturday and have a great Sunday!!

 

 

2 Responses to “Sarah cooked a little lamb :)”

  1. ellenrunsnyc Says:

    I highly recommend body language by jesse mcartney, its my new workout song obsession. FB me your address and I will send you some fun fast music!

  2. triathena Says:

    My new favorite songs are Evacuate the Dance Floor by Cascada and 3 by Britney Spears. 🙂


Leave a Reply

