Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

And on Monday…she slept. November 9, 2009

That’s right.  Today, I slept. Chris was up much of the night with a stomach bug of some sort and I have had some IBS pains off an on all day…so, no sleep + IBS issues = a sick day!  I spent the vast majority of my day in bed trying to sleep it off and the remainder on the couch (Ellen was on Oprah today!). Now we’re waiting for dinner to show up and then head back to bed.  Yep, that’s right, we’re the only 2 people in the world that think Pizza Hut’s a good remedy to a stomach bug 🙂

Yesterday, our eats were much healthier and homemade for the most part.

Lunch was an uncured nitrate/nitrite free hot dog on a whole wheat bun with LOTS of ketchup and mustard, like an absurd amount.  I also like a slice of cheese on my ‘dog.

hotdog

On the side we had an unpictured honey crisp apple, some Rice Works chips and a bite sized salted caramel granola bar.  If you haven’t tried Rice Works chips, do so – stat!!  These are really good, very crunchy, just salty enough and you can have 14 chips for 140 calories!  I could sit and eat a whole bag 🙂  The bite sized granola bars were a great find at Super Target this weekend, no high fructose corn syrup, only 80 calories per “bite” and totally chocolatey enough to calm my “chocolatey/chewy” cravings.  Again, if you haven’t tried these – do so, stat!

chips

Nuts!! My camera/computer totally just ate my granola bar picture, I promise to post another one soon!  They are Archer Farms brand, if that helps!

Dinner last night was big-time comfort food. First, I prepared potatoes au gratin – my first gratin!  I’m sad to say in the past I’ve only made boxed potatoes au gratin on very rare occassions…but I am so glad I tried it!  The recipe came from my Cooking Light cookbook, and turned out really well. It consisted of about 1.5 pounds of potatoes, bacon (called for 4 slices, I just trimmed off the ends of one side of the pack, if that makes sense) plus a lot of aged white cheddar, some skim milk, a dash of cream, and lots of elbow grease. Chris was super excited about this recipe as we normally buy turkey bacon, and I broke out the “good stuff” for this special occasion 🙂 The recipe consisted of peeling and slicing the potatoes, boiling them, and then preparing the cheese sauce, layering it all together, topping with Parmesan and baking til crunchy and golden on top.

gratin

The main dish was a BBQ meatloaf recipe I found in Rachel Ray’s magazine last year and adapted to Chris and I’s taste. Chopped onion was replaced with onion powder. Ground beef was replaced with ground turkey. Ketchup/mustard were replaced with BBQ sauce. Now that’s Yum-O 🙂

The recipe starts with mixing together ground turkey, bread crumbs (I used my leftover Panko Bread Crumbs from the Progresso/My Blog Spark promotion), egg, BBQ Sauce and diced cheese (I used a mix of cheddar we had in the fridge and the aged white cheddar from the potatoes). Combine these ingredients and put into a greased loaf pan, and bake until an internal temp of 165 is reached (if you’re using turkey like us). I then like to let the loaf set for about 5 minutes before slicing.

This is my favorite BBQ sauce, I like to use it in everything and am so glad I tried it this summer!!  I almost grabbed our stand-by of Famous Dave’s (still super good, don’t get me wrong) – but as soon as I tried Stubb’s I was hooked.

bbqI slathered my slice in a healthy dose of extra BBQ sauce and some sauteed mushrooms.

meatloaf

Some potatoes on the side:

potatoes

All together:

dinner

On the side Chris and I split some Challah Rolls from Whole Foods and the leftover sliced fruit from last night, with some added apples for good measure.

rolls

fruit

In non-food news, Chris and I finally caught up on the last few episodes of Man vs. Food (did you see he’s going to attempt the suicide wings again?!?!?), Grey’s Anatomy (I love, love, love Lexie and McSteamy – not looking forward to Izzie coming back – and WTF with the Yang/Hunt drama, let them be happy!!!), and the Vampire Diaries (Ok, only I watch this one…swoon, must read books). Last night was also a new episode of Dexter…it seems like we’re getting close to the season finale already??

Ok, dinner time!  Have a great night everyone, we’re one day closer to the weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

