Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

And rolls shall be had by all! November 27, 2009

Hmm…still recovering from yesterday’s food coma?  Here too 🙂 The last couple days have been a whirlwind, but a fun one!

Tuesday night we had leftover roast chicken in wraps – I had mine with Frank’s Red Hot and ranch, we also ate baked beans and leftover peas and mashed potatoes.

Dinner Wednesday night were natural nitrate/nitrite/uncured hot dogs eaten with lots of ketchup and mustard around 8pm when I finally finished baking.  I started baking around 1pm!!  I made 75 dinner rolls, 2 pumpkin pies, 2 chocolate cream pies and 1 “Dutch” apple pie.

The dinner rolls turned out really good, nice and fluffy – unlike the rolls I made the first year Chris and I were dating that we actually threw off my apartment balcony to see if they’d shatter when they landed!  I made 3 – double batches from my Betty Crocker Wedding Cookbook which should have made 90 rolls, but we ended up with 75.  Not bad!  I had strict orders from my father-in-law to make enough rolls for him to freeze some afterward as my mother-in-law doesn’t bake. So…there were plenty, plenty of rolls at Thanksgiving!

This tupperware was so heavy!  Here are one of each of the pies, first pumpkin:

Chocolate cream:

And apple:

 

The apple pie was definitely an adventure.  I adapted a recipe from the food network and sliced my apples very thin, mixed in extra cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves and then before putting the apples in the pie crust I smeared a layer of melted butter mixed with brown sugar, white sugar, a little flour and cinnamon…it was a paste like consistency.  On top of the apples I put a struesel top that had a little too much butter in it and turned into the melty/carmelized top you see below:

I was worried about it, but it actually was a big hit!  The pie tasted like a very cinnamony apple sauce.  Yum!!

Thursday consisted of a lot of gluttony. First, I had a vanilla vodka + OJ screwdriver while finishing up the apple pie at 10am (we don’t drink much in our house…but on holidays, it’s necessary) and 2 donuts which I picked up when I realized my pie crust was just mush and I needed a pre-made crust. At my in-law’s house we snacked on guacamole, cheese dip (velveeta + rotel), tortilla chips, a veggie tray and a relish tray.  C hris and I each had about a beer and a half and then switched over to lemonade. For dinner I couldn’t get past the idea of factory farmed/slaughtered turkey and pig…so I didn’t have any ham or turkey on my plate (my grand-father-in-law talking about it being the biggest ham he’d ever bought even reminded Chris of all the junk that factory farmed animals are fed). Instead, I loaded up with rolls (obviously), mashed potatoes with gravy, sweet potatoes with marshmallows, cranberry sauce (homemade!), corn, and stuffing. It was a good, carb loaded meal, hehe.

For dessert I had a small piece of apple and a small piece of chocolate pie, there was no room for chocolate pie!

Today has been a really relaxing day, no Black Friday for us!  We are debating going to the local Christmas Store and picking out an ornament like we did last year, we don’t plan to put up a tree this year so I’m torn on if it’s necessary…but I do like the memory for when we go back to a tree next year!  I just took a lovely nap on the couch and studied some this morning (mini-gag) and will probably do more of the studying this evening…just over 1 month til the exam!

What was the best thing on your plate yesterday?  Mine was definitely my grandmother-in-laws sweet potatoes they were perfectly mashed and just sweet enough!

Do you have any leftovers?  We brought home about 30 rolls and 3/4 of a chocolate pie, and that’s it 🙂  I’ll be working those rolls into meals all week!  I actually should go stick some in the freezer now that I’m thinking about it.

Have a great Friday everyone!

 

One Response to “And rolls shall be had by all!”

  1. triathena Says:

    No leftovers for me – we ate at a restaurant. 🙂 I think the best part was the gravy, I had it on EVERYTHING!!!! I even made a bread boat out of a roll, put butter on it, then cranberry sauce, then gravy. LOL! I’m glad you had a great holiday!


Leave a Reply

