Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

That’s what I call a pizza! November 29, 2009

I wish I could say that today was full of something exciting – shopping, traveling, watching a new movie…but, no, it was full of…studying. I got in 3 hours and 45 minutes of study time…and my brain is only 3/4 of the way melted 🙂  I broke up my study time with a couple 1 hour breaks and a 2 hour nap.

For breakfast this morning I had a packet of high fiber Quaker oats with a banana, raisins, a drizzle of honey and a dollop of crunchy almond butter.  I over-estimated my milk so it was a little like hot cereal, but still good!

Chris made a really yummy lunch of fried egg and bacon sandwiches, I topped mine with a little gouda and cherub tomatoes.  On the side I had a generous handful of Baked Ruffles.

I didn’t hang these after lunch…but I did hang them this weekend, so it’s a good segue to the rest of my day 🙂  We aren’t putting up a Christmas tree this year since we’re feeling cramped in the apartment, but I did put up a number of our favorite decorations.

My Bearfoots Angels:

The penguin diffuser:

The big snowman candle holder:

Snowmen on a sled:

And our 2009 ornament which we picked up at the Christmas store on Black Friday:

Dinner tonight was a special treat for Chris since he’s being such a great husband and putting up with all my study stress/psychosis – BBQ chicken pizza!  He loves to get this when we go out for pizza, but most places put onion on it…which he doesn’t like.  So I tried it myself!

First, I coated a pack of organic chicken thighs in a mixture of Famous Dave’s, Emeril’s and Stubb’s chicken seasonings and baked in a glass dish for about an hour, until they all were at 165 degrees internal temperature. I forgot to prep the dough, so I cheated and used 2 packets of Betty Crocker dough, with a little honey mixed in (don’t you love the honey wheat pizza crust??).

I topped the dough with a mixture of Famous Dave’s and Stubb’s BBQ sauce and a little honey + a mixture of gouda, cheddar and mozarella cheese + the baked chicken.

The end result was beautiful, and delish!  We ended up eating the entire pizza…which we haven’t done in a very long time 🙂

We also had salad on the side – mine had greens, 1/2 a cucumber, tomatoes and kalamata olives plus a little parmesan cheese and homemade Italian dressing (from a mix, yes, but I did add my own water, vinegar and oil!).  Chris had the same salad, minus the tomatoes and olives.

After dinner we watched Dexter, holy plot twists!!  I cannot wait for the last 2 episodes and the “final twist” that they were hinting at in the teaser for next week.  Then…while blogging I got sucked into Californication.  I don’t “follow” the show, but Sunday night I always find myself watching…even when I have other things to do!  It’s just so addicting!

Now I need to fold laundry…depressing that we have to go back to work tomorrow, it was so nice having some quiet time at home with Chris.  At least we only have 3 whole weeks til Christmas, then I’ll be out of the office for a full 11 days relaxing before year-end and studying. Do you have plans for Christmas/Hanukkah?  Will you be traveling or staying close to home?  We will be celebrating with Chris’ family the week before Christmas, with his extended family on Christmas Eve and then by ourselves on Christmas Day.

I hope you all had a wonderful long weekend, can you believe tomorrow’s the last day of December already??

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

