Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Chilli because it’s Chilly! December 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 7:29 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Brr!!  It is COLD out!  Right now the temperature is 35 according to our thermometer but that’s probably a bit overstated as the sensor is right next to our apartment building.  Thursday, the HIGH is supposed to be 18 degrees!!  Winter’s definitely here!

All my snacks and lunch today were cold, so I was craving a warm dinner.  My mid-morning snack was a cup of Stonyfield Organics Pomegranate-Berry yogurt with a raspberry chocolate Kashi bar mixed in.  It was good, but they didn’t quite go together, something was just a little off, but they separately I like both 🙂

Lunch was a sandwich made with Udi’s Whole Wheat Bread, natural peanut butter and raspberry/black cherry/blood orange jam.  On the side I had a mini cucumber cut into spears and baby carrots with a little ranch.  I also had an unpictured fruit leather 🙂

Throughout the afternoon I munched on this mix of pistachios, soy nuts, pumpkin seeds, cranberries and dried apple chips.  I also had an unpictured apple.

After waiting for the train in the biting cold it was time to make something warm and yummy for dinner.  I chopped up the 2 leftover chicken thighs from Sunday night and added them to a skillet with:

  • 1 packet of chili seasoning
  • 2 small cans of tomato sauce
  • 1 can of pinto beans
  • 1 can of kidney beans
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 1 can of Rotel

I simmered all these items together and added lots of cumin and garlic as it cooked.  Chris also made a pan of cornbread.  I think this is a great way to show how we’ve cut meat way down in our diets – the recipe calls for a full pound of ground beef or turkey…and we thought it tasted just great with 2 chicken thighs which isn’t very much at all 😀  In my mind, the flavor and texture were even better with more beans than it is when we make it with ground turkey (when we make chili with meat we use a 1/2 pound of ground turkey).

With our chili and cornbread we had some corn and mandarin oranges, we didn’t eat all of what is in the picture…but I didn’t feel like getting us separate plates just to eat corn and oranges, so we shared out of the bowl and have plenty of leftovers for tomorrow.

Here is the chili simmering away:

My mug of chili with a dollop of sour cream and a little cheddar:

And our sides:

And now, veg time!  I’m going to pack our lunches for tomorrow and get my running gear ready for tomorrow.  I need to pick my one helpful thing to do tonight for myself, last night I gave myself a DIY pedicure!  **I just realized how hard it is to take a flattering foot picture** I layered a dark purple and an irridescent purple, which didn’t show up very well in this photo.

I know that tonight I am contemplating watching the Biggest Loser…but I know I shouldn’t because it will just make me mad as the contestants are all running a marathon tonight as their final challenge.  I got really mad when they did this last year because I had tried training for 3 marathons and ended up burnt out or injured and this year I feel even more irritated because I put in the work to train properly and completed my first marathon.

It makes me mad because I know tomorrow people will ask again how fast I ran my marathon so they can compare it to the TBL competitors and that’s just not right.  After last year’s episode where it was later found out that some of the competitors received rides, and the fact that it’s just not safe to jump into a marathon without building distance gradually over time I just don’t know what to make of it. I can’t take away the fact that most of them did cover a full marathon distance, but somehow I feel that it’s cheating because they have had 2 trainers yelling at them to keep working out for the 12 weeks they were on the ranch but  I and all the other 10,000 runners at my race in October had to wake ourselves up, monitor our own pace and fueling and on the day of the marathon we didn’t have a camera crew to edit out the ugly moments where we thought we couldn’t take another step or cart us to the finish line so they could get a shot of our time under the clock.  I don’t know, it just rubs me the wrong way.  Thoughts?

Have a wonderful night all!!

 

Leave a Reply

