Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

December Maintenance December 1, 2009

That’s right, I’m finally, finally on my pre-training cycle maintenance plan!  I can’t believe that it’s been over a month since the marathon, I was just getting ready to start my maintenance plan when my intestinal/back issues hit and I had to take a couple weeks off, but now, I’m back!

My maintenance plan is easy (and self-made up) and will consist of:

Week 1:

  • Tuesday – 3M easy
  • Wednesday – 3M easy (can add in some speed or easy hills if bored)
  • Thursday – 3M easy
  • Sunday – 5M long

Week 2:

  • Tuesday – 3M easy and core work
  • Wednesday – 4M easy (can add in some speed or easy hills if bored)
  • Thursday – 3M easy and core work
  • Saturday – core work and/or yoga
  • Sunday – 6M long

Week 3:

  • Tuesday – 3M easy and core work
  • Wednesday – 5M easy (can add in some speed or easy hills if bored)
  • Thursday – 3M easy and core work
  • Saturday – core work and/or yoga
  • Sunday – 7M long

Week 4:

  • Tuesday – 3M easy and core work
  • Wednesday – 5M easy (can add in some speed or easy hills if bored)
  • Thursday – 3M easy and core work
  • Saturday – core work and/or yoga
  • Sunday – 8M long

And then can you believe it will be December 27th and time to start training for the 50K…and almost 2010?  I can’t, this year really has flown by.  I know I say that every year, but this one especially.

In addition to my fitness maintenance plan, I need to get back into my regular eating/lifestyle habits…even though it’s the holidays.  For the next 4 weeks of my maintenance plan I’m going to aim to:

  1. Meet my fiber recommendations from my GI doctor
  2. Add more fruits/veggies each day to help reach goal #1
  3. Limit myself to one-fun flavored beverage during the week such as an iced tea lemonade, hot cocoa or apple cider (I’m excluding my morning glass of OJ and/or Amazing Grass from this goal, but really am just trying to get back to where I was with not craving coffee/sugary coffee drinks)
  4. Listen to my body cues on hunger, fullness, sleep (i.e. not sleeping 12 hours just because I can or skipping the gym because I only got 5 hours of sleep, hopefully getting back onto a training plan and cutting out the caffeine will naturally curb my insomnia).
  5. Try to do one thing each night that’s beneficial instead of just zoning out in front of the TV (now that I’m no longer studying for the CPA exam).

I started my maintenance program off right this morning with an easy 3M in 31:25 on the dreadmill treadmill.  It was a pretty nice run, I listened to music and just zoned out and really enjoyed being movie and getting my heart rate up.  After my run I had a few extra minutes so I made a special breakfast for Chris and I – egg “mcmuffins!”  I toasted a Thomas’ Smarter Start English Muffin for each of us (they are whole grain and have 5 grams of fiber) and topped them with 1/2 a slice of Havarti cheese and 1 egg which I “fried” in Pam. So good!

I also had a packet of Quaker High Fiber oatmeal (10g!!) which I made with 1/2 cup of organic skim milk, a spoonful of all natural peanut butter, tons of raisins (2g of fiber per 1/4 cup) and a couple drops of honey.  This was insanely good, I microwaved the oatmeal and milk together instead of just heating the milk and the texture was awesome. Very satisfying and warming before heading out to wait for the train in the cold!

I washed my breakfast down with a small glass of Naked OJ and a ton of water.  I must have been a little dehydrated because I drank 3 glasses of water in the hour between getting home from the gym and leaving for work!

Can you believe it’s only 23 days til Christmas?  And, what’s this about Mia Michaels leaving SYTYCD??  Can someone who’s been watching this season fill me in, please!!

 

Leave a Reply

