Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

So.Cold!! December 2, 2009

It is FREEZING outside!

Here is the forecast for the rest of the week:

So, I’m bundled up in my warmest Eddie Bauer sweater and had to break out my parka, snow boots, knee high socks and gloves for the walk to/from the train this morning.  Brr!!

Before heading out into the cold this morning I had a delicious bowl of oats made with Quaker high fiber oats, raisins and peanut butter (I know, surprise, surprise).

But, the star of the bowl was this awesome honey-caramel I made last night.

The recipe can be found on the 100 Mile Diet Website and I definitely suggest trying it out if you’re looking for something sweet.  I made mine with Clark’s honey (local from CO) and Horizon organics heavy cream. It’s a different flavor and consistency from sugar caramel, but holy yum is it good!!  I got hooked watching the 100 Mile Challenge on Planet Green and am just waiting for my book to show up.  Chris and I love scouring the grocery store and buying as many of our products local as we can and when we move into a house are planning to join a CSA or purchase a share with a local farm so we can begin buying more of our meats and produce directly from the producer (it will be easier in a house, so the box will be waiting on our private doorstep instead of in the hallway of our apartment complex, lol).

This caramel sauce is a great example that eating locally doesn’t have to be boring!  I whipped the caramel up in about 15 minutes from fridge/pantry to jar while watching the Biggest Loser marathon.  I’m proud of them for finishing – what an awesome accomplishment, but I still cannot get past my feelings that the show is an unrealistic idea of weight-loss (I mean, how many people can work out 4-8 hours a day?) and I’ve seen in my own life people around me who would like to lose weight and just feel discouraged to only see a 2 or 3 pound loss each week when the TBL contestants are losing double-digits week after week.   I also still feel like having the contestants run the marathon after so little training (last night the guy who won said his longest long-run pre marathon was 15 miles and then later admitted he’d never ran farther than 13 miles) kind of cheapens the accomplishment of running a marathon in the eyes of someone who’s never completed one – like it makes it look like anyone can just decide that they’re running a marathon in 2 months and only run minimal long runs…and that they’ll be able to finish.  I think that mindset could set people up for failure and injury if they were to follow that example in real life.

Anyway…enough about that 🙂

Believe it or not, the black hole that is Wednesday at 4:30am wouldn’t let me go running…between the fact that it was Wednesday and the fact that it was snowing and about 15 degrees out…I just didn’t feel like walking to the gym!  I’m going to lay out extra warm clothes tomorrow morning to layer up for the trek 🙂

How is the weather in your neck of the woods? (hehe, recognize that??)

Have a great Wednesday everyone – we’re half way there!

Christmas vacation countdown21 days, 8 hours, 23 minutes, 16 seconds

 

One Response to “So.Cold!!”

  1. […] (office coffee) in my Monsters’ Inc mug with a spoonful of the honey-caramel cream I made last week.  Yum!!  I also had a slice of pumpkin cream cheese bread.  You can just barely see the penguins […]


Leave a Reply

