Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

A new obsession… December 4, 2009

I just found this website and am hooked.  I already have picked up a few great tips about using apple cider vinegar + water as a disinfectant in the kitchen and spraying down the shower/sinks in the bathroom before bed with white vinegar to prevent mold and bacteria!  Also, I’ve found a recipe for a sugar scrub I’m going to try and read a really icky article about wet laundry…and definitely plan to start washing all our undies in one load with hot water instead of the normal cold/cold cycle. I love DIY stuff like this!! A pop-up window will open the first time you start clicking around the site asking if you want to sign up, but you do not have to be a member to view the content.  If you do want to sign up, it’s 100% free!

And now to the events of yesterday!

Breakfast was a cup of oatmeal at work made with 1 packet Quaker high fiber oats, water, 1 packet of Justin’s Honey Peanut Butter and a TON of raisins and dried cranberries.   I didn’t take a picture because it was actually kind of gross looking, but it tasted really good!!  After 3 sleepless nights, I broke down and had a tall non-fat (with whip) caramel brulee latte from Starbucks, so good…

Lunch was leftovers from Wednesday night – brown rice, which I had cooked with some organic Better than Bullion paste, lime juice, cilantro and taco seasoning, a little chicken, black beans which were cooked with garlic/cilantro/lime juice, and lots of Rotel tomatoes and hot sauce.

On the side I had a fruit leather and throughout the afternoon I snacked on these Bare Fruit dried apples. I love these apples – they are so crunchy and sweet, but they are 100% organic and contain only apples – no sugar or preservatives!  The fruit leather ingredients were apple puree/juice, strawberry puree/juice and lemon juice, no added sugar or preservatives.  I love convenience foods that are still whole/nutritious foods 🙂

So, then the fun started!  After lunch my legs started to itch, big time – I had a few spots on my shins that had shown up late Tuesday afternoon and I accidentally scratched one raw.  I found some cortizone cream in the first aid kit at work and called to tell Chris – and he freaked out – you see…my husband has a major problem with the idea of bed bugs.  Like, he’ll hate me for sharing this, but when we go to a hotel, he takes off all the sheets and examines the creases of the mattress with a flashlight.  I’m not sure when his phobia started, but he makes a convincing case for the fact that we should be terrified of a bed bug infestation.  We decided that it probably wasn’t bed bugs as I only had 2 or 3 bites on each leg and he had one small one on his arm which he found later in the day yesterday – and the bites didn’t match what Google/WedMD said they would look like.  But, just to be safe – Chris wanted to clean and disinfect/declutter the bedroom.

I told him to wait for me to get home as my head was filling up of thoughts of him slicing open our mattress and pouring kerosene inside to kill any bugs. Sure enough, I had to work late!!  Around 4:30 when I should be packing up during the slow season I was actually just getting more work and Chris started cleaning without me.  When I finally made it home, all the sheets/blankets and pillows from our bed had been washed in hot water + dried on high heat and were sitting on a chair in another room (in case the bugs were crawling all over the apartment, obviously). The bed had been disassembled and the mattress/frame/box spring were resting against a wall and Chris was vacuuming/dusting/inspecting the entire room.  Thankfully, there were no signs of bed bug droppings/casings/etc around the room.  And believe me – we looked.  We cleaned under the bed, under the nightstands, behind the dresser, in the closet, even cleaned out the metal frames of the windowsills!!  I have to admit, Chris’ fear of bed bugs is so convincing that I really did expect to go home and find them crawling all over our stuff!!

Anyway, now we have a REALLY clean bedroom, I don’t know if it’s ever been this clean – we even cleaned out the dresser drawers and closet!  So that was the bed bug part of the evening.  Part II of the evening was the dinner fiasco!

Chris had called and ordered pizza and breadsticks (so we could have dinner and a couple lunches) from Pizza Hut since I was running late and we had a major clean-a-thon planned.  The pizza showed up around 6:30 and seemed kind of strangely packaged…so after the pizza guy left we were tearing ravenously into the packaging only to find that the Hawaiian (for me) and Meat Lovers (for Chris) pizzas that we had ordered were replaced by 2 sausage pizzas and no breadsticks!!  Bummer!!  We called the manager and he sent out our actual order…over an hour later!!  We ended up not eating dinner til close to 8pm and were starving.  We did end up with 4 pizzas and a box of breadsticks for $20…and you just can’t beat that.  I don’t normally like sausage pizza, but when it’s free, I’ll gladly eat it 🙂

Dinner last night was 3 pieces of pizza + a couple breadsticks – hunting for bed bugs makes you hungry!

We have no idea what was biting us in our sleep – but after Chris-the-Cleaner hit the bedroom, there are no new bites to report today!  And, the insomnia spell broke and I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow last night.  I still only managed to get 6 hours of sleep, but I’m hoping to get 8 or so tonight to catch up. Eats today have been a little boring – breakfast was leftover pizza (I know it’s a little weird, but it’s a carryover from college), I had a triple grande non-fat caramel macchiato from Starbucks as a morning snack, and lunch was more pizza and a mini-Oikos cup…can you tell pizza will be a theme in the blog for the next few days?

I hope you are all having a great Friday!  Just a few more hours til the weekend!!

Christmas Vacation Countdown: 19 days, 3 hours, 12 minutes, 28 seconds

 

Leave a Reply

