Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Chili cheese fries December 8, 2009

Oh yes…it was a “junk food” night at the Hoge Runs household.  Before I start…is any one else watching the Biggest Loser Finale?  What on EARTH is Jillian wearing???  I’m not a fashionista…but really, ick!!  But the contestants, they look amazing!!  So far I haven’t seen anyone that looks like they’ve pushed the thin-ness to an extreme to try to win (scratch that…I am now seeing one player’s bones, um, ick) like the article that surfaced a few weeks ago about the Season 1 winner hinted.  I of course cannot find that article right now!

Anyway…my morning snack was going to be a slice of pumpkin cream cheese bread from this weekend and an Oikos…but my Oikos was expired!  I think it’s been in my fridge a teeny bit too long.  Whoops!

Lunch was a ham and gouda sandwich on homemade honey wheat bread with yellow mustard, some baked Cheetoh’s (the bottom of the bag, little bits!) and I brought 2 peeled Clementine’s but only had room in my tummy for 1.

This afternoon I realized I forgot most of my veggies, so I ended up eating my 2 mini-cucumbers (I accidentally ate most of them before taking a picture, whoops) and a honey crisp apple around 1.  I ate my lunch at 11 today…bad idea, must remember a yogurt that’s not expired tomorrow for a better mid-morning snack.

Around 3 I had a bag of Bunny Graham’s I found in my desk, thank goodness for healthy sweets!

For dinner tonight, I knew we’d be having our organic/uncured hot dogs, but I wasn’t sure what to have with.  Chris mentioned Chili-Cheese fries and they just sounded so good!!  I was trying to recreate the Texas Cheese Fries from Chili’s and I think I got pretty close!

First, I peeled, sliced, and boiled 4 potatoes:

Next, I mixed the potatoes with some seasoning from a restaurant that shall remain nameless but rhymes with Bed Bobbin…hmmmm.

I baked the fries on a pan sprayed with Pam at 425 for about 30 minutes, flipping once in the middle.

Then, I sprinkled a bit of cheddar and mozarella cheese on top for the last 5 minutes.

While the fries were baking, I boiled some kidney beans with onion powder, garlic powder, Emeril’s Essence, red pepper flakes, chili powder and paprika.

Here is the finished product – complete with a few dollops of sour cream.

We split these about 75/25 🙂  I also had 1 uncured/nitrate/nitrite free hot dog (yes, it’s there under all the ketchup and yellow mustard) and a banana.

And for dessert (doesn’t everyone eat dessert while watching TBL?), a chocolate PB brownie.

Well, now I need to get lunches together for tomorrow, find out who wins TBL, and get ready for bed!  And, oy, my abs hurt!!  I suggest again to check out the Enviga Ab burn workout…youch!!

Have a great night everyone!!

 

Leave a Reply

