Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

My life…in the back of our Jeep. December 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 9:15 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Evening bloggies!

Today was a day that I really just was not prepared for.  Chris and I woke up at 6:45, got dressed and were out the door by 7:15am.  We had an eye appointment at 8 and 8:30 back on the other side of town, and boy was it a doozie!  We saw a new doctor, whom we both fell in love with, and he did a very thorough exam of my eyes…and says my new glasses will make me feel like a new woman!  I’ve always had bad eye sight in my left eye, but I never really knew why.  Sure, I have an astigmatism…but I didn’t know that my left eye is slightly lazy, that my eyes are aligned at slightly different directions and that my eye pressure is high.  So today I had a battery of tests to check for double vision, focusing and other things.  I even had my eyes numbed and hooked up to a machine to check for glaucoma!  The results were a little scary in that I am justthisclose to being diagnosed with glaucoma, but due to my age/no family history, we’re going to watch and keep testing as needed.  The doctor is totally confident that if it does turn into glaucoma that we’ve caught it early enough to maintain it with eye drops…but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it 🙂  I did pick out some CUTE new glasses – they are black plastic like the ones I have now, but the top/inside of the frames have cute red/blue/white stripes!  How patriotic of me 😉

After the eye doctor we went to McDonald’s for breakfast, we hadn’t been in forever and it was good!  We generally avoid McDonald’s…but today was a special occasion.  We headed over to Comcast to turn in our cable box…and they were closed!  How could a cable company be closed on a Saturday??  Chris will take the boxes back on Monday 🙂  We also got our storage unit squared away.

And then, the hard part.  We knew today we needed to prep the apartment for the exterminator, clean clothes we’d use while living with the in-laws,  pack our food stuffs that would stay with us at the IL’s and finally start throwing things away we didn’t have room for/use for.  I had to stop a few times and just breathe, because I was so unprepared and overwhelmed for the task of sorting our life into what could fit into the back of our Jeep (to use while we’re living with our in-laws), what we could put in storage and not see for a few months, and what we could throw away.  At the end of the day we had thrown away 2.5 dumpsters FULL of stuff.

The task has really just begun as we still have part of the apartment to sort through.  I had no idea how to approach the task of sorting and Chris was a great help.  We mainly tossed anything we haven’t used recently (4 trash bags full of clothes), purses I haven’t used in forever, and the contents of our cabinets that we wouldn’t be able to use while sharing a kitchen/would freeze in storage.  Every piece I dumped into the trash bags reminded me that we are truly starting over.  Next weekend my brother-in-law and father-in-law will help us throw away our upholstered furniture…and then the rest of our possessions will be put into cold storage.   I’m still reeling a bit after the fact that we narrowed down our 1.5 bedroom apartment into 6 bins in the back of our Jeep. I know it’s not about the possessions…it’s about the people around you, so I’m thankful Chris could fit in the Jeep 😉 but, it’s like the life we knew is gone and now we’re left with a whole lot of unknown, which is scary. I truly wouldn’t wish this upon anyone.  I know it could always be worse, at least we have our health (mainly), a roof over our heads and each other, but it just feels like we’re walking through the world with just the two of us and no one else understands what we’re going through. So, we just cling to each other and hope that all the unknown we’re walking into is good, and that we packed the right clothes 😛

We made it back to our “temporary home” around 6 and made a hodge podge dinner of leftover honey mustard wings and fried oreos from last night, peaches and tortilla soup I froze when I made it last weekend (yay foresight to make a big batch!).  It was so good!  Neither of us realized how hungry we were until we sat down to eat and dinner was probably gone in 5 minutes.  Now we’re settling in for the evening and will be back at the apartment tomorrow doing more laundry and finishing up prep for the exterminator.

We brought our crockpot over to try to avoid tying up the stove.  Do you have any great crockpot recipes?  I know how to make pork tacos, crockpot lasagna and a number of soups – but if you have an easy crockpot recipe, I’d love to give it a try!

And…there MAY be a giveaway in the Hoge Runs future!  Stay Tuned!

Nightie Night bloggies, sleep tight and don’t let the bed bugs bite 😉 hehehe.  Bad insect humor 🙂

 

One Response to “My life…in the back of our Jeep.”

  1. triathena Says:

    I have an awesome beef stew recipe for the crockpot. I’ll have to dig it out and send it to you. It’s scary, downsizing!!! Your story reminds me of what I was doing just a year ago when I moved from NY to CA. You will miss some of the things you don’t have anymore but overall you adjust to the new life. 🙂


Leave a Reply

