Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Book Reviews December 18, 2009

As I’ve been crummy about photographing my eats this week, I’m switching things up a little today and catching you up on my latest reads!  I picked up  most of these books through SwapTree and have 5 more books in the mail!!!

The Road by Cormac McCarthy:

First off, I cannot wait to see this movie, I know it’s in theaters now, but as I could barely contain my tears at the end of the book – I probably shouldn’t see it in the theater.  This book is written in a different style than I normally read – a little more “artsy” and descriptive than a plain old novel, but once I got a chapter or so in – I was hooked!  This is a great story of a man and his son trying to find civilization, safety, and just stay alive after some sort of cataclysmic event set the country (world?) on fire.  The book never tells you exactly what happens, and the reader is left to wonder how the man and boy ended up on the Road and are given brief flashbacks of the man’s younger life as clues.  Be prepared with your Kleenex for the last chapter!

The Vampire Diaries (The Awakening and The Struggle) by L.J. Smith:

First off – I love, love, love that this was book 1 and 2 in the same cover!  I was so engrossed in book 1 I would have had to gone out and buy book 2 that night had it not been in the same book!  So far, this series is different from the Vampire Diaries TV show that I watch on Thursday nights (back in January, woot!!) – for instance, in the books, Elena is blonde, Bonnie is a red head, Vickie is a random girl not Matt’s sister, and Elena has a 4 year old sister instead of a teenage brother.  The other story lines are different – but I don’t want to give too much away!  A brief synopsis is that Elena is the “it” girl in school and can have any guy she wants, and she wants Stefan!  As we all know Stefan and Elena end up together…and then Damon enters the picture (*shakes fist at Damon and his bad boy hotness*) I could not stop turning the pages when I got to the end of book 2.  And then I sat there, in shock!  I cannot wait to read book 3!

Plenty – One Man, One Woman and a Raucous Year of Eating Locally by Alisa Smith & J.B. MacKinnon:

I had to read this book after seeing the 100 Mile Challenge TV show on Demand.  The book was written by Alisa and J.B. who live together in British Columbia and one day decided to try to eat locally – within a 100 mile radius of their apartment.  The story follows all the trials and tribulations of finding food to sustain them within 100 miles as well as their personal growth and struggles with their relationship/friendships and family over the year.  This book made me SO excited to plant a garden when Chris and I find a house, I have canned jelly and frozen corn/berries in the past…but now I have even greater goals!  This book wasn’t as personally engrossing as other local eating books I’ve read (such as Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver) and I have to admit that I skimmed over some of the historical parts of the book, but the actual story about the couple’s life during the 100 mile challenge was very good.  There are also great 100 mile recipes at the beginning of each chapter.

Next up for books:

  • The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein
  • The 8th Confession by James Patterson & Maxine Paetro
  • Shopgirl by Steve Martin

What is the best book you’ve read recently?

Happy Reading!

 

One Response to “Book Reviews”

  1. Annie Says:

    Oh man…talk about tear-jerking books. You better take stock in Kleenex before finishing The Art of Racing in the Rain.


Leave a Reply

