Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Come on white blood cells…fight! December 29, 2009

Still sick 😦 I woke up this morning feeling worse than the last couple days, apparently par for the course with this cold.  Ick!  I woke up at 7:45, slept again til 9:30 and then got up and made 3 slices of whole wheat toast with butter and homemade three berry jelly and a glass of OJ.  Doesn’t my OJ look like it has a jack-o-latern face?

After breakfast I went back to bed until noon…the bed wasn’t pretty, but I took a picture anyway as I spent so much of my day there 🙂

At noon I got up and made myself a toasted cheese sandwich with 2 slices of homemade wheat bread and 2 slices of Tilamook colby-jack cheese.  I also had a can of Amy’s organic tomato bisque, seriously my favorite tomato soup.

I also had a Pepperidge farm milk chocolate/caramel cookie after lunch to wash down my cold medicine.  I popped it in the microwave for 30 seconds first to make it “fresh baked.”

After lunch and re-dosing with cold medicine (Mucinex and Excedrin) I took a hot-hot shower with a Sudacare Shower Soothers tablet.  These things are awesome for opening up sinuses, you just unwrap the tablet and drop it on the floor of the shower where the water will hit it and breathe deeply.

I must have taken a super hot shower as when I opened the bathroom door the steam was making the smoke detector in the hall beep!  Whoops 😉

Post-shower I slathered myself in this yummy smelling Tree Hut brand body butter that I found at Costco (4 tubs for $12!!) – all the lotions are paraben free, they’re the first body “butter” I have found without paraben that’s not super pricey.

And then, back to bed I went!  Chris got home around 3/3:30 and I sat with him in the computer room and nibbled on some Rice Works chips and sour patch kids…hey, gotta feed a cold, right?? 😛

Dinner tonight was quick and easy, I made grilled turkey and cheese sandwiches using Udi’s sour dough bread, 1.5 slices of Tilamook colby-jack cheese and a few slices of turkey breast from Saturday night.  These sandwiches were really good, the sour dough crisped up really well and there was a great layering of flavors from the rich cheese, slightly tangy bread, and slightly sweet turkey breast.

On the side we had Annie’s Mac & Cheese and peaches.

Now I’m contemplating some Newman O’s and milk…I really would like ice cream, but it’s a bit too cold to go out to get some 🙂  Tomorrow’s another big day of laundry and my last day of Christmas vacation (before working Thursday and then having a 3 day weekend, hehe).  So, hopefully I wake up feeling better!

Nightie Night bloggies!!  Don’t forget there are still 2 days to enter the Bare Fruit Giveaway!

 

3 Responses to “Come on white blood cells…fight!”

  1. DiningAndDishing Says:

    your grilled sammies look delish!! perfect cold weather food.

    get well soon!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  2. biz319 Says:

    Hope you are feeling better! My step-son loves my grilled cheese sandwiches – I always use Panera’s sourdough bread and use pepper jack cheese – yum!

    Love tomato soup, but for some reason I have never made it from scratch – its on my list of things to make.

  3. hogeruns Says:

    I’d love to make tomato soup from scratch as well! Must try that this summer when tomatoes are in season again 🙂 I love the sourdough from Panera!


Leave a Reply

