Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Last Wednesday of the Year… December 30, 2009

Weird!  Just about 28 hours til 2010!  I always feel strange when entering a new year, like, where did the last one go?  I know it’s cliche to say time goes faster the older you get, but I really think that 25 is going faster than 24 did!

Today was full of laundry, again.  I woke up at 8 and took Mucinex and went back to sleep til 9:30 to let it kick in.  I feel a lot better today, but am still really congested and sniffly.  I got up and heated up some overnight oats using Jenna’s recipe of 1/2 cup oats and 1/2 cup milk.  I let this mixture sit overnight in a tupperware in the fridge and heated up for about a minute and a half this morning.  I topped my oats with a dollop of crunchy almond butter, some black raspberry/blood orange jam and a healthy sprinkle of Benefiber (I feel like such an old person with my fiber!!).

I mixed this all up and topped with sliced banana.  I also had a glass of Naked OJ + Benefiber on the side.

After breakfast I headed to the old apartment and washed the last two loads of laundry, vacuumed the last dose of bug powder and finished a few little cleaning projects.  While I was waiting on the laundry to dry in the archaic dryer I went to the local running store to try to find a pair of winter running pants (not tights, but not sweats, pants…you know, the ones that are kind of loose on top and tapered on the bottom? hehe).  They had a lot of size extra small, small and large…but the ones I liked they of course didn’t have in medium.  I’ll be trying their other location this weekend.  My gift card’s burning a hole in my pocket!

I also stopped by Barnes & Noble and picked up 3 books with the gift card my boss gave me – The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, and The Scarlett Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne.  I read Jane Eyre in high school but think I’ll appreciate it more when reading it just for fun 🙂  I resisted buying another copy of the Great Gatsby 😉

I picked up Qdoba for lunch and it was just Ok, my taste buds are off with the cold.  My burrito had chicken, queso, guacamole, black beans, lettuce, pico de gallo and green salsa.

All washed down with my giant bottle of water that I worked on throughout the day.

Dinner tonight was a little boring…so no pictures 🙂  We had another round of grilled turkey + colby jack + sourdough sandwiches and tomato soup.  This is my 3rd tomato soup meal this week!!  After dinner we watched a couple episodes of Everest on the Discovery Channel, but are just not digging this year’s format of showing the whole climbing season combined into one episode.  Weird.

I’m not excited to be going to work tomorrow, things will be BUSY until about mid-late February and I’m just dreading it.  The time flies because I’m so busy, but I feel like there’ll be added stress with trying to find/close on a house at the same time.  Yikes!  We’ll get through it though 😀

Staying at the in-laws I’m surrounded by pictures of Chris as a kid and he was so cute!  I couldn’t stop myself from snapping a picture of him and his sister Sam as little kids:

Weren’t they cute?  And here they are all grown up on their wedding days – Sam and her husband Brad got married in February 2008 and Chris and I got married a few months later in August.

Hehe, Chris will kill me when he sees I posted his little self on the blog!

Ok bloggies, I had better get my stuff together for tomorrow, have a wonderful night!

 

Leave a Reply

