Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Not ready to go back to work!! January 3, 2010

I am so not ready for the holiday season to be over, there’s such a long haul til our next break from work folks…it’s sad!!  Today I tried to soak up as much relaxation as possible as things are going to get crazy at work over the next couple of months.  Tack on trying to find/buy a house and it should be interesting!

I started my day off with a 5.03 mile run in 1:00:54.  It wasn’t a fast run and I added in a 3 minute walk break in the middle to take off my fleece jacket, take a Gu (as I skipped eating before heading out) and drinking some water.  It was a beautiful morning for a run – I finished my run in a tee shirt!  Love that 🙂

After my run I had a light blue gatorade and 2 slices of whole wheat toast with a little butter and homemade jelly.  I also had a small glass of Naked OJ and Benefiber.

After breakfast I showered, cleaned the bathroom, cleaned/organized our room and Chris and I both started laundry.  Organizing took a while, so soon it was lunch time.  We threw together some nachos made with:

  • Baked “Scoops” tortilla chips
  • Warm queso sauce
  • Shredded cheddar
  • Bean Dip
  • Sour Cream
  • Newman’s Own Chunky Salsa

I also had some broccoli on the side 🙂

After lunch Chris and I split a pack of these new Special K fruit crisps for something sweet, these are pretty good!  It’s like a cracker filled with fruit 😀

And after that…I napped!  I slept for about 2 hours and it was so nice just to relax and snooze with the breeze blowing in the open window…and no coughing!  Fingers crossed I can sleep without a cough tonight as well.

After my nap I watched America’s Test Kitchen on PBS…we have “over the air” cable right now…so we get 3 PBS networks, Channel 2 (Not sure what it’s called now – but it has the Vampire Diaries, Smallville, etc) and Fox.  I’ve been watching a lot of PBS lately 😉 While watching PBS, I snacked on 2 Honey Maid Graham Crackers.

Finally it was dinner time…Sundays are so lazy at our house that meals are the definite highlight 🙂 We debated picking up something at the grocery store for a while (we were both craving BBQ and love the Lloyd’s pulled pork in the deli section of the store) but were good and fixed red beans and rice, as planned.  Chris was on corn bread duty, we love the Marie Callendar’s mix from Costco.  It’s not fancy, but it is SO good!

I mixed a box of Zatarain’s red beans and rice, a turkey kielbasa sausage, garlic powder and cumin, then boiled for 25 minutes and let rest for 5 minutes.  While that was cooking I made a pan of mashed potatoes…totally cheating and using the Betty Crocker garlic potatoes in a box.  I added a little sprinkle of cheese and a dollop of sour cream at the end to make them a little special.  Dinner was served with mashed potatoes in a bowl –

Then add red beans and rice mixture on top –

And corn bread on the side  –

I cannot wait to find a house and get back to making big Sunday dinners again…I’m kind of tired of eating from a box…but I also don’t have the resources/space to do much elaborate cooking while we’re sharing a kitchen 🙂  I’ll try to keep our box meals as exciting as possible though!  😉

And now…believe it or not, I’m watching PBS!  I’m going to fold the laundry and get my clothes laid out for an early morning yoga session and getting back to work tomorrow.  I hope you had a great long weekend and wish you a very happy first Monday of 2010!

 

2 Responses to “Not ready to go back to work!!”

  1. DiningAndDishing Says:

    oh my, that cornbread looks amaaaazing!! hope you enjoy your first day back!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    • hogeruns Says:

      It is heavenly! It is also really, really cheap! We got a GIANT bag at Costco for $5…I think it makes 10-20 batches of corn bread depending on the size of the pan you use 🙂


Leave a Reply

