Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Lasagna, take 1 January 4, 2010

I say “take 1” because I have a feeling we’ll be eating a LOT of leftover lasagna this week 🙂

Rewinding to this morning I was running really late after throwing together the Crockpot Lasagna (and sleeping in, whoops) and barely made my train.  I grabbed a Perfect Oatmeal with brown sugar and a grande non-fat raspberry latte at Starbucks with a gift card I received this weekend.  I added some craisins, raisins, and Honey Bunches of Oats – Just Bunches that I had in my desk to the oatmeal.


Don’t you just love a pink drink?

I also ate a Kraft Natural String Cheese that I brought from home.

Work was interesting today…but productive!  I got all but 2 things checked off my to-do list, wahoo!!  I was very strict with myself and really forced myself to stay on-task as much as possible.  I did receive some sad news about a member of my running group today, she delivered her first baby at 27 weeks this Sunday and there are a few complications with the baby.  The baby is currently in NICU and the family would truly appreciate any thoughts and prayers you can send to baby Rachel.

For lunch I made leftover red beans and rice + mashed potatoes:

I also mixed in this bag of broccoli – shredded into bits.

The verdict?  Leftover red beans, rice, and potatoes – thumbs up.  Adding  broccoli…not so much.  The texture wasn’t bad but the flavor of the broccoli just did not mesh with the rest of the bowl. Bleh!  At least I got in some greens 😉

Near the end of the bowl I mixed in my piece of corn bread from home…saved the day!

Later in the afternoon I snacked on 4 sticks of celery chopped up into smaller sticks and a packet of Justin’s maple almond butter.  Yum!!  I was just missing the “ants” (raisins) and I could have had “ants on a log!”

I also had a cup of Strawberry Stonyfield yogurt with probiotics.  This had an interesting texture…kind of a mix between yogurt and pudding, but it had a nice flavor!

Just before heading home I had a twin pack of Starbursts (red and pink, score!!) and a mini-cookies and creme Hershey’s bar.

The light rail ride home was quite boring this evening, I forgot a book…thank goodness I had my I Pod 🙂

Dinner was all ready when I got home – yay Chris and a crockpot!

This morning before work I put a crockpot bag in and then layered spaghetti sauce, no-bake lasagna noodles, ricotta cheese and mozzarella cheese.  I topped the layers with more spaghetti sauce + a little water and tons of mozzarella. This mixture cooked all day and we topped it off with more warm sauce when I got home, my only complaint about the crockpot lasagna is that it tends to dry out a little when left to cook ALL day long.  I bet if made over the weekend and cooked 4-6 hours it would be perfect!

On the side we had organic Ceasar salad from this  Earthbound Organic Farms mix and garlic bread that we made with Udi’s Sour Dough bread, butter and garlic powder 🙂

Looks yummy – yes?

Now we’re watching the news and relaxing!  We’re meeting with our realtor on Saturday so I need to send her a list of houses we’ve found on line so we can review their detail listings.  Getting excited to start the process!  Have you bought a house?  Any tips on things we may not think to look for but are important?

Ok bloggies, talk to you tomorrow!  Have a very wonderful Monday night!

 

2 Responses to “Lasagna, take 1”

  1. divasrun Says:

    Your blog makes me too darn hungry! LOL! And that reminds me . . . I am due a trip to SB!! =)

  2. DiningAndDishing Says:

    Never heard of crockpot lasagna before – genius!! Well, first I need to get a crockpot, but when I do I’ll be making this!!:O)

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com


Leave a Reply

