Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

One more day January 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 7:10 pm
Tags: ,

Is it just me, or is this a really, really long week?  After all those short weeks around the holiday’s, I’m beat!  This will probably be a quick post as I can barely keep my eyes open – and it’s only 7pm 😦

Yesterday afternoon I ran 3.82 miles over my lunch break in about 39 minutes and then the floor dropped out of the temperature.  The HIGH today was 13 and this morning the low was -13!!  Yikes!  Today I didn’t run as we were supposed to have a working lunch that didn’t happen.

Breakfast this morning was 2 pieces of Rudy’s organic sweet wheat bread, crunchy almond butter, a little honey and a sliced banana – yum!

All mashed together – sorry it’s super dark 🙂

When I got to work I had a Kraft Natural String cheese, this was a great breakfast and it kept me full right up to lunch time.

Since the working lunch didn’t happen I had to grab something from the food court.  The Falafel King doesn’t carry the hummus special anymore so I tried the falafel plate.  It had a garden salad, hummus and tabbouleh and a wheat pita on the side.  Yum!!

And later in the afternoon I snacked on a pack of Special K fruit crisps and a banana.

And then, I worked. And worked and worked.  I always thought it was evil that I get super busy right after the holiday break…coming back to a full week is bad enough – coming back to overtime?!?!  Ick!!  😛

Chris made chili and garlic bread for dinner but I forgot to take a picture, and now, I’m running out of steam very quickly…so I’ll end this before I start rambling 🙂  Promise more exciting posts this weekend covering our house hunt!!

Have a great Thursday night bloggies!  Talk to you tomorrow!

 

6 Responses to “One more day”

  1. Linn Says:

    Yes, I agree, this week is so long!!!

    I can’t believe how cold it is there. I am getting chilled just thinking about it… as I sit here in 54 degrees weather. lol. Stay as warm as you can!

    Also, very impressed with your lunch time runs!

    That Falafel looks yummy- I need to make some soon!

    Happy Friday! 🙂

  2. hogeruns Says:

    When you make falafel – do you use a box mix, or make them from scratch?

    • Linn Says:

      Uh I don’t know, I’ve never made it! Actually, I have made it from a box, but I think I want to make it from scratch. I think I’ve seen recipes for it in some of my cookbooks. I’ll let you know!

      Maybe I’ll get motivated to do it this weekend~!

  3. Linn Says:

    Hey- just wanted to let you know I made falafel this weekend! Super easy- so easy, I made it after the earth quake! lol. It’s like making hummus and then frying it. I can get you a good recipe if you want.

  4. hogeruns Says:

    Yes, that sounds so good!!! So glad you guys were OK through the earthquake!

  5. Linn Says:

    Here ya go:
    It’s from Vegan Planet (Robin Robertson)

    Chickpea Falafel

    Chickpea patties, or falafel, are popular throughout the Middle East, and are eaten as an appetizer, a snack, in a pita bread sandwich, or as a main dish.

    1 1/2 cups cooked or 1 (15.5-ounce) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
    1/2 cup chopped onion
    1 garlic clove, chopped
    1/4 cup minced fresh parsley
    2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
    3/4 teaspoon ground cumin
    1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
    1/4 teaspoon cayenne
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
    3/4 cup dried bread crumbs
    Canola oil, for frying
    In a food processor, combine the chickpeas, onion, garlic, parsley, lemon juice, cumin, coriander, cayenne, salt, black pepper, and 1/4 cup of the breadcrumbs and process until well combined. Taste to adjust seasonings. Form the mixture into patties, using about 2 tablespoons of the mixture for each one. If the mixture is not firm enough to shape into patties, add another tablespoon or two of breadcrumbs. Dredge the patties in the remaining breadcrumbs.

    Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the patties and cook 3 to 4 minutes on each side, or until nicely browned. Be careful not to burn. Repeat until all of the falafel are cooked.

    Serves 4

    Copyright @2009 by Robin Robertson


Leave a Reply

