Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Monday, check! January 25, 2010

And just like that Monday’s over…come on weekend 😉

Today was a good day on the whole.  I’m switching back to working 8-5 (ok, the 5 part is really more like 5:30, 6 or 7…but I can say 5 and it sounds good) and that extra hour of time before I needed to leave for the train was AWESOME.  I got up at 5:50 and showered, took my time drying/straightening my hair, picked out a cute outfit (short-sleeved black turtle neck, gray slacks) and ate a french toast bagel with whipped cream cheese.  The bagel is Target brand from the refridgerated section and was GOOD.  It was crispy on the outside but super chewy in the middle.  Mmm!!  I did miss the photo op, so I owe you one tomorrow 😀

I had a banana and a bag of these Smart Food popcorn thingies around 10:

Verdict?  um, not good.  I was expecting something like caramel corn- salty + sweet, and cookie bits thrown in.  And instead, it was just really, really sweet and stuck in my teeth.  And the cookie bits didn’t really taste like cookie, just like sugar.  Blech.  😦  On the plus side – these do have 2 grams of fiber in a little baggie, plus vitamins and minerals.  But, I refuse to eat anymore just because they tasted so bad…no offense if these are your favorite snack…

I went for a run *gasp* at 11 and knocked out 3.79 miles in about 41 minutes with 1,130 feet elevation gain and 1,130 feet loss (for a net change of 0 feet, hehe).  It was super windy out, but it felt SO good to be running again after 2 weeks off.

I was ravenous when I got back but I like to cool off at my desk for a little while before heading to the kitchen to get my lunch…I don’t want to run into the VP of our department all sweaty and nasty like.  So, I snacked on this handful of cherry tomatoes while my face turned back to normal, people color (instead of tomato red – hehehe, get it? :P)

Lunch was a cup of Campbell’s soup at hand. I love this chicken noodle flavor, no, it’s not the healthiest chicken noodle…but it’s comfort food in less than 90 seconds!

To go with my soup I had a cheese sandwich made with 2 slices Pepperidge Farm double fiber bread, a slice of Muenster and a slice of Provolone.  The picture seems to have disappeared…

I also had kumquats and a little container of mandarin oranges to round out my lunch.

Do you like kumquats?  I do, but I can only eat so many before my mouth starts to feel strange.  I love the slightly bitter skin against the sour center.  Yum!!

Around 2 I grabbed this bad boy to go with my 100 calorie bag of popcorn:

I also snacked on some unpictured orange wedges  before coming home.  Chris made a really yummy dinner of scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls (the kind from the roll out can) and little turkey sausages.  I wasn’t able to get to my camera as my mother-in-law was scrubbing the tile…darn it!

Now I’m getting ready to see what’s new on Hulu and then get ready for bed 🙂  Tomorrow’s grand plan is wake up at 5 – do a yoga workout of some sort, do the Ab workout I’m in love with and get ready for work – and try to get in another 3-4 miles at lunch tomorrow.  Wish me luck!!  I hope you all have a great Monday night and that your Tuesday starts off fantastic!

 

7 Responses to “Monday, check!”

  1. EE Says:

    I always thought the Smartfood probably looked better than it might taste. Also, I totally thought those tomatoes were Hot Tamales or something. Love tomatoes!

    • hogeruns Says:

      Hahaha, I eat tomatoes as though they were hot tamales. Chris hates tomatoes, but I’ll buy the 2 pound box of cherry tomatoes from Costco and eat them all myself… 🙂

  2. divasrun Says:

    You are so wrong for posting that frappuccino and tempting me! =P
    It all looks good, but thx for the warning on the Smartfood. I hate things that stick in my teeth!

  3. when i think of smartfood popcorn i think of the really cheesy white stuff of my childhood. same thing? or did they revamp it?

  4. Chris Says:

    I just ate a bag of the smart food since the box was not far away from me. The coating tastes like a tootsie pop. Definitely weird…

  5. a.m. Says:

    Thanks for the verdict on the smart pops. I was just about to get some but I decided against it for some reason. I’m glad to know that I chose rightly.
    I love eating tomatoes too, but I don’t think I can eat them like grapes. 🙂


Leave a Reply

