Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

A blast from the past January 26, 2010

I promised my recipe on whole crockpot chicken forever ago, and I’m finally paying up!  But first…my day.

I definitely snoozed this morning, straight through til 6am.  It feels like such a treat to not have to leave til 6:50 🙂  Before heading out the door I had a french toast bagel, whipped cream cheese, a banana and a glass of Naked OJ+ Benefiber.

Mid-morning I snacked on cherry tomatoes and a sea salt & caramel granola bite from Target.  These things are sooooo good and a perfect 3  bite size.

At 11 I headed out for a run and realized I forgot my Garmin at home.  I used MapMyRun.com to guesstimate how far I went.  I was pretty conservative time wise as I don’t want to over do it after 2 weeks off, but still managed to knock out 2.33 miles!  It was another beautiful day and I really relish the fact that Colorado has 350 some sunny days a year 🙂

Lunch was a cheese sandwich and a can of Amy’s Organic Minestrone.  This was really filling and I ended up eating my whole sandwich and about 3/4 of my soup.  This soup is really yummy and has great veggie chunks.  It needs something though and I’ve yet to figure out what it is.

I also had some kumquats and a cup of pineapple.

And then, I realized I think I’m allergic to kumquats.  Um, my lips were burning/tingling/itching and it was just unpleasant.  Ick.  I think I may take a little break from these sour friends.

This afternoon got crazy at work and nothing really blog-worthy happened aside from my afternoon snacks, hehe.

I had about 5 olives from this mixed bag I took to work:

Then, I had a small bag of popcorn and a mini-Musketeers bar before coming home.

Afternoon snacks are pretty voluminous this time of year because I’m working til 6 or 7pm…

When I got home Chris had dinner prepared.  It was a semi-homemade with Chris meal 😉  He took a cheese Tombstone pizza and added some turkey pepperoni, canadian bacon and pineapple that we had at home.  Yum-o!  We also had salads on the side – mine had lettuce, Newman’s Own Balsamic Vinaigrette, a little parmesan, tomatoes and kalamata olives.

And then, I NEEDED something chocolatey and chewy.  It’s a horrible craving that hits me a few times a month and seriously, nothing else will suffice.  I ended up settling on a chooolate cupcake + whipped cream. Eaten while watching The Biggest Loser, obviously.  Isn’t someone going to quit tonight??

And now…let the randomness commence!  Here is a photo of the afghan I was working on since we moved in with Chris’ parents.  I couldn’t figure out a good way to take a picture of it – so here it is all folded up.  Unfolded it’s long enough to go end to end on a couch and wide enough to lay under.

And now…from the past.  The far, far past. Just a quick warning – if you’re  a vegetarian, you may want to skip over this section as it features graphic photos of raw chicken 🙂

I started with a Coleman organic young chicken:

I will spare you the cleaning details – but take the chicken out of the bag, rinse it and remove the neck and giblet bag.  (This may be obvious, but before Chris and I started going organic, I had never prepared a whole chicken…and now that we’re with the in-laws I admit to going back to pre-cut chicken because we’re choosing convenience over messing up my in-laws chicken).  Just a mini-plug for Coleman’s – they produce very delish chicken and for a very reasonable price, and in a humane manner!

After preparing the chicken, I made a mixture of spices.  Again, for convenience I made a mix of pre-made mixes – Stubb’s, Famous Dave’s, 2 kinds of Emeril’s and Chicken Seasoning:

I made a paste with these spices with a little olive oil and water:

Leaving the skin on the chicken, gently separate the skin from the breasts/legs with your fingers:

And then – slather in spices! I like to apply the rub under the skin AND over the skin for full flavor saturation.

This would be a great time to place the bird in the fridge for a few hours or over night, but I’m generally running late and pop it straight in the crockpot.  No water or broth is needed – this bird will make it’s own bath 😉 I like to use Reynold’s crock pot bags – they make cleanup a breeze 🙂  I set the crockpot for about 7 hours on low heat and forget it. Definitely watch your chicken the first few times to get a feel for how quickly/slowly your crockpot cooks.  I’m sure ours is done in closer to 5-6 hours, but 7 yields an amazing, fall off the bone chicken.

And the final product –

I can’t show you a final picture of the chicken outside of the crockpot because ti seriously disintegrates as soon as you lift it out. This is a perfect preparation for BBQ chicken sandwiches or wraps, use leftovesr for a BBQ chicken pizza, to top a salad, etc!

Also, get creative.  I love the BBQ flavor these spice mixes provide – but have also prepared chicken this same way with a simple rub of garlic powder, onion powder, salt/pepper and filling the cavity with sliced onions.  I’ve also seen an idea for a citrus chicken stuffed with oranges/lemons and rubbed with a simple olive oil/salt/pepper rub.  Super versatile and easy!

 

5 Responses to “A blast from the past”

  1. Rachelz Says:

    i’m making this tomorrow!

  2. EE Says:

    Benefiber and kumquats make for an interesting post. 🙂

  3. divasrun Says:

    I will def try that recipe. I will send you one that I want to try, too. And your posts always make me so hungry!

  4. wow that looks good. too bad the only time i feel like dealing with turkey is…oh yeah never hahah 🙂 i let the family do that and it only happens on thanksgiving

  5. Amy Says:

    I like the afghan. 🙂 Needlework is such a lost art… lol. I have on that I’ve been working on myself. It’s about 3/4 of the way done and in it’s fourth year of production. I was making it for my boyfriend at the time. Two bf’s later and it’s still not done. oops. :S


Leave a Reply

