Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Wednesday?? February 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 12:13 pm

Um, I feel like I completely skipped Tuesday.  This week has been such a whirlwind so far.  The biggest thing is we’re going to be looking at apartments this weekend.  The short of it was that Chris was laid off Monday, and rehired Tuesday.  Kind of.  The long of it is that it could be a very rough year with lots of feast or famine type scenarios…and we’re just going to have to see how it plays out – but we know it will play out better in an apartment (i.e. being able to pay bills, save and not be house poor) than a mortgage (i.e. being able to pay bills….) at this point.  We’re hoping to jump into the house game again in a year to 18 months.

I’m doing my best to stay positive – I have an amazing husband who was ready to go start filling out job applications at Home Depot at 8am on Monday morning even though his company was going to put him straight onto job-attached unemployment (meaning he skips the normal unemployment rigmarole and starts getting checks within a week – and is still technically “employed” by his company).  I know whatever happens over the next few months/year we’ll figure it out together and I’m so proud of him for how gracefully (or masculinely…hehe) he has handled the events this week.  I’m thankful for the kind words from two very dear friends, our realtor, lender and even the home sellers as it’s been so hard watching everyone around us have things come together, and for us it seems like they fall apart time and time again.

On the plus side – one of the apartment complexes we’re looking at this weekend is ridiculously nice – it has a 30 acre park, a full sized health club (basketball courts, indoor golf, racquetball, cardio/strength equipment and classes), a football/soccer field, a baseball diamond, and is a fully gated community.   We keep joking that it’s like we’re retiring at 25 and 27 🙂  Work has still been crazy – I got home at 8 last night…thankful for my psuedo-boss who let me leave early on Monday to be with Chris and try to get our game plan together.

Other than that, life has been dull 😉  I haven’t had time for a run since Sunday with all the non-work events + work craziness.  I’m currently eating a delish salad of romaine, mushrooms, croutons, feta, tomatos, kalamata olives and balsamic vinaigrette and with that had a pulled pork sandwich leftover from the mega-batch I made earlier this week.

My lunch break is winding down, so I’d better get back to work – hope you all are having a wonderful week!!!

 

7 Responses to “Wednesday??”

  1. divasrun Says:

    HUGE HUGS to you, HOGEs!

    Hang in there . . . it will all come together at just the right time, I promise!

    XOXO

  2. ((((((hugs))))))) keep your head up!

  3. a.m. Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this, Sarah. That’s wonderful that Chris has a good strong head on his shoulders and a supportive and loving wife along side him. Keeping you in my thoughts. Stay positive!

    xoxo,
    a.m.

  4. ellenrunsnyc Says:

    You know what, this is a hidden opportunity! I just know it.

    Much love to you and C! Cause you both are awesome!

  5. Steph Says:

    Aw Sarah I’m so sorry!! I love your positivity through all of this! You are such a supportive wife! Best of luck finding a new place and to Chris with his job situation.

    At least you didn’t already have that mortgage when this happened!!!

  6. EE Says:

    I am always here for you in whatever way you need. I know that sounds trite, but I mean it. Chris and you deserve the BEST.

  7. Jessica Says:

    I’m so sorry Sarah! I know all too well the pain that you and Chris are going through right now. I’m glad you two are able to stay positive. Good luck navigating this challenge.


Leave a Reply

