Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Return of the Abominable Snow Sarah! February 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 11:11 am

Hello from the Great White North, I mean…snowy Tundra…I mean…Colorado!!  It snowed from Friday night off and on til this morning and the sun’s just barely peeking through the clouds as I type.  Not a ton of snow, just a dreary, icy, windy, cold weekend.  Brr!!  I cannot wait for spring.

As you’ve probably guessed, I’ve been out of my mind busy between work, packing and moving.  Running last week was nonexistent thanks to those factors 😦  But, I did sign up for this race – it’s April 11th, my birthday is April 10th…so it will be my first race as a 26 year old!  I’ll be treating it as a tempo long-run in training for my May 1st 25k Trail race.

http://www.platteriverhalf.com/

Moving this weekend was fairly painless.  C’s brother-in-law helped us move, and it goes very quickly when you have no furniture 🙂  The move itself took about 2 hours, plus an hour to sign our lease/get our photo ID’s made.  Then, Saturday afternoon we shopped!  We hit Wal-Mart (and got a really cute area rug, will post pics once we get furniture/unpack), Target (3rd trip in a week I think) and tried to go to Costco…but it was closed.  At 6pm.  On a Saturday?!?!  So, Sam’s Club got our business instead.

Yesterday was a whole other story.  Our development has a specific contact for the local cable company (actually a national company, so I’m not going to discuss their name here til I file a formal complaint) and he was able to get an appointment made for Sunday – seemed weird as said company doesn’t work on Sunday…but we went with it.  Legit, right?  Um, wrong!  The appointment was scheduled from 10am to 12pm and he showed up at 12:30.  Then, we went through a ton – first, he said that he’d only been training for something like a week, instead of the full month training program.  Then, he dropped a few racial slurs.  What we can make out of what he was doing outside the building was unplugging EVERYONE’S cable/internet and changing all the “fittings” (the metal thing at the end of a TV cable) that plugged into the wall.  Chris said he needed to go out and double check that our apartment was connected to the main cable, after about an hour – Chris went to look for him.  Um, folks, he was working on the building next door!!!  Those poor people probably were calling the company like crazy asking where their cable/internet was.

There were tons more issues…leading up to Chris having to set up the internet and program all the remote controls.  Such a mess!!  I could go on and on, but that guy was just a trip, and the whole experience was a mess.

On top of that, I finally left to go buy groceries since it was starting to snow BAD and we had no food.  Sure enough, I filled the entire cart (we were buying tons of staples + regular groceries), waited in line for 10 or 15 minutes…and no wallet!!  I was so embarrassed!!  Needless to say, work today feels like a walk in the park 😉

I will be back probably tomorrow with more updates and hopefully more regular posts.  fingers crossed our furniture shows up tonight!!

 

5 Responses to “Return of the Abominable Snow Sarah!”

  1. EE Says:

    Re: the grocery store… ohhh, what a horrible feeling.

    File that complaint with a big ol’ smile.

  2. eatmovelove Says:

    Thank you so much for your kind comment on my blog…I’m still struggling with alot of it….but your words really mean alot to me. Thank you!! 😉

  3. oh no to forgetting your wallet! and WOW to that cable company guy. i’d definitely being filing a complain too

  4. divasrun Says:

    How fun! Good luck!

    XOXO

  5. Your blog is so informative … keep up the good work!!!!


Leave a Reply

