Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

I found it! March 12, 2010

Yay, yay, yay.  I have been lusting over this book for MONTHS.  Seriously, before Amazon even had cover art on-line, I was waiting for this book, and I finally found it tonight at Costco of all places!

Chelsea’s books are NOT for the shy or faint of heart, but if you’re open and brave they are a hoot.  I always tell Chris when I’m in my 30s/40s I’m going to look like Chelsea Handler and/or Jennifer Anniston 🙂 Duh.  Hehe.

In other recent book news, I devoured this one in 3 days on the light rail to/from work.

It was good, it was creepy, and my favorite part was I could not put it down, even though I knew the ending.  I actually guessed the ending after seeing 1 of the movie previews and Chris read a spoiler that verified my guess…but the book surprised me all the same.  I think there were 3 or 4 distinct twists in the book that had me second guessing the movie ending (thinking they had changed it from the book) and the author set such an amazing stage that I really got lost in the story and followed him just where he wanted my mind to go.  I think our trip to Alcatraz this summer helped as I could picture a secluded island surrounded by treacherous currents very easily 🙂  I definitely recommend this book if you’re looking for a great, suspenseful read.

Next in line (before I dig into Chelsea) is this book:

Robert Leckie is one of the men The Pacific follows and I am really interested to read one of the first hand accounts and compare it to the miniseries.  I know, I’m just that cool B-)…

And, I also picked up this little fun read (for after Chelsea) at Costco…can you tell I’m feeling overwhelmed with all my free time since finishing my topsecret $600 million bond deal on Thursday (where my head has been buried the last 2.5 months)??

Speaking of the bond deal, I was actually invited to a very special happy hour earlier this week with the President/CEO, CFO, and Treasurer of the company.  While my main supervisors’ supervisors haven’t recognized the fact we finished, I am delighted to say the “Biggest Cheese” took time out of his day to have a Coke (I had to go back to work afterward, boo) with me, shook my hand, and congratulated me for keeping the company liquid.  I suppose his thanks outweighs that of a few VP’s, huh? 😉

Other than work, not a lot has been going on lately.  I’ve been running 3-5 days a week depending on my schedule and have a 1/2 marathon coming up on the 11th of April.  It will be my first run as a *gasp* 26 year old!  I actually pulled a white hair the other day, I noticed something sparkly near my part…and sure enough, white as fresh snow.  Yikes!!  I suppose I have been under a teeny bit of stress lately.

Tomorrow morning is a busy day, dropping the car off to get the oil changed, heading to the mall for some new spring work clothes for me and new jeans/tee shirts for C, and making some brownies that will “change my life” from Zesty Cook. Can’t wait to share it all with you!

Nightie night bloggies!

 

6 Responses to “I found it!”

  1. Annie Says:

    I found my first white/gray hair the last month, and I’m only 25! I’m not going to lie. I cried a little. And by a little, I mean a lot…

    • hogeruns Says:

      I feel your pain Annie, it was my first as well, and I’ll be 26 next month!! My grandma was COMPLETELY gray by the time she was 16…so I suppose getting my first gray at almost 26 isn’t too bad. But still, traumatic! I actually considered dying my hair after finding it, but am totally paranoid my roots would grow out completely gray 😉

  2. divasrun Says:

    You’re already a hottie and can totally outshine Chelsea! She is funny, though.
    Now I want to read Shutter Island. I have no idea how it ends, but I also want to watch the movie.

  3. i’ve been trying to find shutter island everywhere! it seems like everyone wants to read the book now that it’s a movie.i love dennis lehane books

  4. a.m. Says:

    First, I found my first white hair at 22. It’s probably stress induced though. 😛

    Love your to-read list. I heard “crazy heart” was a great movie and had an even better soundtrack.

    I’m glad the biggest cheese recognize how awesome you are.

  5. ellenrunsnyc Says:

    my hairstylist says its from worry, the grey. He tells me to leave worrying to the ugly girls. He also says if I get more then 2 he is going to dye them each single strand. I love him.

    I also LOVE chelsea handler as much as she (and i) love vodka.


Leave a Reply

