Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

DST Stinks… March 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 7:20 am
Tags: , , ,

My internal clock is SO messed up.  I’m not really “tired” from DST, but my body is obviously confused.  I woke up at my normal time today…but didn’t fall asleep til midnight last night!  Hopefully tonight is a little less weird…

The radio station I listen to in the morning was sharing “fun” DST facts, here are a few for your Monday enjoyment:

  • DST really stands for “Daylight Saving Time”
  • During World War II, DST lasted from 1942 to 1945 in the US, to conserve fuel for the war effort
  • DST is not observed by:  Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands and most of Arizona (except a Navajo Indian Reservation)
  • During the 6 months of DST, there are approximately 5% fewer pedestrian vs. car accidents in the US.

With those lovely thoughts to ponder, I’m going to get back to work, I will be back tonight for a mega-weekend update.  Complete with my first DIY panini, ooey/gooey brownies, discussing my Keurig (!!!!!!!  :D) and an overall weekend recap.

Have a wonderful Monday bloggies!!

 

10 Responses to “DST Stinks…”

  1. EE Says:

    I love DST because Indiana didn’t get it until 2004. 😉

  2. Jessica Says:

    I expected DST to mess me up, but I think since I was so tired and went to bed really early Saturday night my body clock just stayed the same. I like to have the light later, but it was tough to leave for work when the sun was barely up this morning!

    • hogeruns Says:

      I leave for work at 6:30am and get home between 6 and 9+pm depending on what I’m working on at the time…so it was just starting to get light out when I was leaving for work, now back to darkness, drat! At least it will be nice having more evening hours so I’ll see the sun and not feel like a vampire 🙂

  3. ugh. it really messed me up yesterday because my stupid phone didn’t reset so i got up an hour later than i wanted. usually dst doesn’t affect me at all. but apparently stupid technology does!

    • hogeruns Says:

      I definitely woke up in a panic Saturday morning thinking C had overslept for work (he usually leaves by 5am)….and then realized it was Saturday and went back to sleep for 2 hours 😀

  4. LT Says:

    I haven’t noticed an issue yet, but I’m sure when I get up early to run tomorrow, I’ll have a harder time!

  5. divasrun Says:

    I woke up this am and when it was still dark out felt confused. Good thing I checked my alarm and had KBF call me just to be sure I got up to be on time for my first day!

    XOXO – watching tonight!

  6. ellenrunsnyc Says:

    I HATE DST.

    When C was in europe, we used to have 2 to 3 weeks where we’d be on 5 hours as oppose to 6 hours different. Way fun, NOT!

  7. Danson Says:

    DST is a pain in the a$$!

    Just when your getting used to the new time, they change it. Im sure there is more to it, as it was insitgated by “government” but then, what isnt these days? Keep blogging amigo,

    Dan
    http://www.eachoneteachwon.com 🙂


Leave a Reply

