Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Saturday lazies… March 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 5:30 pm
Tags: , , ,

Boy am I feeling like a lazy bones today.  I took yesterday as a vacation day from work and it’s SUCH a strange feeling to be this relaxed.  But I like it!

Chris and I have had some yummy eats this week.  Earlier in the week, we made grilled ham & gruyere sandwiches with dijon mustard they were YUMMY.  I will be the first to admit I’m not a big sandwich lover, but this was sandwich to the next level 🙂

Both side of the bread were slathered with dijon and then a thin slice of gruyere and ham in the center, then grilled to crispy yummy perfection.

Throughout the week I had leftover homemade mac & cheese for lunch:

I love how this mac & cheese stayed creamy and moist all week, super good and will definitely be making this again in the future.

Thursday night I made Chipotle Bean Burritos from Cooking Light’s website.  This is a really easy recipe and really, really good.  I used a can of black beans, a can of kidney beans, and salsa like the recipe called for, but mixed up the spices a little – onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, taco seasoning and chili powder.  I mashed them to a semi-mashed consistency (some beans just partially mashed) and we ate them on whole wheat tortillas with more salsa, cheese, sour cream and tomatoes (Chris didn’t have tomatoes :)).

On the side, I made homemade Mexican rice.  I used white rice, Rotel, taco seasoning, cumin, garlic and onion powder and mixed it all together in the rice cooker.  I put the lid on and didn’t touch it for 30 minutes and it turned out perfect!  Not mushy, not crunchy.  Love it.  Rice and I are not good friends…but Thursday night, we were in sync 😉

Yesterday I spent a perfectly lazy day babying my ankle (I took a major spill the other day and landed flat out, except for the knee I banged up, the wrist that hit the wall and the ankle that twisted) while watching daytime TV.  I also picked up groceries (yummy dinners in store this week) and Chris got off work early as we had a semi-blizzard yesterday.  It was so nice to get extra time with him.  Dinner last night was easy-peasy.  I hard boiled a few eggs and Chris had an egg salad sandwich and I made a mondo salad with lettuce, tomato, bleu cheese, egg, carrots, olives and vinaigrette. On the side I had 1/2 a sour dough roll with butter and Crofter’s superfruit spread.

This morning I had an egg and cheese omlette with avocado on top and a cranberry orange scone from Whole Foods.

Today, I got to spend some quality time with this cutie patootie:

Couldn’t you just eat her up?  This is C and I’s niece Braeleigh and she’s just about 8 months old.  Chris and Braeleigh’s dad went and played racquetball in the community health club and Braeleigh and  I had an exciting morning of looking at the baby in the mirror (our bathroom is covered in baby finger prints, hehe), watching Millionaire Matchmaker (you should have heard her talking to the TV) and finally taking a nap (well, Braeleigh took a nap and I snuggled her while watching the boys play Nintendo).  She’s definitely developing a fun personality and enjoying really playing with toys.  I even bought a few toys yesterday to keep at our house for when she visits 🙂 Being an auntie is lots of fun!

After Braeleigh and her dad left, Chris and I headed over to Best Buy to pick up a copy of New Moon (I’m such a dork, I know). We were going to pick him up some new jeans as well, but the mall was a madhouse, so we’ll take care of that next week.  Right now, I’m watching Hoarders and chillaxing B-).

And now…for the serious side of the post.  Anti-foaming agent.  Blech.  I saw an article the other day and starting reading up on fast food ingredients and was shocked.  I don’t know if it was naive of me, or what, but I thought it was what they said – I knew there’d be preservatives, etc, but thought fries would have…I don’t know.  Potatoes?  But instead, I found some nasty, nastiness.  The french fries at McDonald’s are actually flavored with beef flavoring and contain an anti-foaming agent (um, what?)  The chicken at Taco Bell has 20+ ingredients.  Chicken nuggets at McDonald’s?  40+ ingredients.  Here are a couple sites which share the fast food ingredient secrets:

http://www.tacobell.com/nutrition/ingredient-statement/

http://www.dietriot.com/fff/mcd/mcd.html

Yikes.  We had majorly cut down on fast food over the last year in our house and now we’ll cut back even more…just thinking about these ingredient lists turns my tummy and Taco Bell and french fries just don’t seem as enticing anymore.  How do you feel about fast food?  Do you think it’s a once in a while treat, a staple, or something that should be avoided at all costs?

Ok bloggies, I’m getting hungry for real food (without beef flavor & anti-foaming agent) so I’d better go get started on dinner!  Have a wonderful and relaxing Saturday night!

 

5 Responses to “Saturday lazies…”

  1. since i have so many siblings (and don’t really plan on having kids of my own) i can’t wait to become an aunt! being the oldest though, i might have to wait awhile hahah.

    i suppose i’m not opposed to fast food provided it’s not every day or anything. and i guess i’m really only against the fried stuff (some places do have healthier non-fried items) but since giving it up when i was in high school it makes my stomach really sick and i feel off for a few days. so i tend to steer clear of it

  2. divasrun Says:

    ADORABLE! And as usual, you know just how to make me RAVENOUS!

  3. ellenrunsnyc Says:

    may I ask what the H E L L is anti-foaming agent?!


Leave a Reply

