Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Back to the grind March 22, 2010

I’m dreading going back to work tomorrow, a teeny bit.  I really enjoyed having a 4 day weekend, but thinking about how it’s right back to the thick of things tomorrow with first quarter craziness starting in a couple weeks is stressing me out a ton smidge. It will be ok. It will be ok. It will be ok. 🙂

Today I woke up with intentions to run 8-10 miles…but that was first thwarted when I was awake til 1am last night.  ugh!!!  We went to bed @ 10:30 and I tossed and turned, I was freezing if I laid on my right side, burning up if I laid on my left.  Not fun. I’m hoping tonight goes a little more smoothly.  I woke up at 9 this morning (love vacation!!!) and checked into work email while eating a WF cranberry orange scone, bad move.  I then was sucked into emails/phone calls for the majority of the day.  I did take a break around lunch time and went to Old Navy (3 tank tops, 2 tees and a cute pair of sandals), Wal-Mart (2 pairs of sweats and a vest for me, workout pants, jeans and a dri fit top for Chris) and Target (2 dresses, 2 sweaters and eggs)…ah, retail therapy :-D. Wal-Mart is one of the only places I can find jeans in Chris’ size.  He’s skinnier around than he is tall, and apparently in the US the trend is quite the opposite (um…the one that shocked me most was the 40×30 I saw today).  And…you can’t beat $19.99 for Levis!  I wish girl sizes were like boy sizes…then you could go to any store, buy a pair of jeans and they’d fit.  Hmm…wouldn’t that be perfect.

After that, I came home and heated up leftover homemade refried beans/chicken from last week.  I added avocado, cheddar, sour cream and spicy ranch on top and ate with chips…like a delicious bowl of over-the-top dip 🙂

After a couple more hours of emails, Chris came home…I love being home when he gets here, it makes the evening seem so much longer than getting home 3-4 hours after him.  I was all set to make us lasagna for dinner, until I opened the fridge and realized we had no ricotta or mozzarella.  Whoops.  After nearly running to the store for cheese I realized we have a stock pile of pasta and lasagna turned into penne with seasoned turkey and sauce.  I cooked the turkey in a non-stick pan with Italian seasoning, garlic and onion powder then heated up the sauce in the same pan.  On the side we had salads and grilled challah rolls with garlic/parmesan.

and then Chris and I settled in to watch Minute to Win it and Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution which we taped last night. How do you feel about Jamie’s quest to wake America up to the goodness of fresh made foods?  I’m a little shocked at the outlash from critics/the people on the show about Jamie’s ideas.  Um…how could fresh food prepared quickly and cheaply be worse than frozen food chock full of preservatives (and in the case of some fast food restaurants, anti-foaming agent…I just can’t get over that)?  I don’t get it.  I have been following the blog of an anonymous teacher who’s eating at her school cafeteria every day, and in her school, many students qualify for free/reduced lunch (the “regular” price is $1.85/meal) and many of them receive their only meals each day at school.  I totally agree with Jamie and think that there has to be some way to provide a healthy, well rounded lunch that doesn’t come from a box…but, I also see how it’s a long road to climb as many of the lunches kids were eating on the show are the same that I remember from elementary school growing up.  I do remember chili/cinnamon roll day and how much we all looked forward to it – my elementary school even had a chili-feed a couple times a year to raise funds for various programs.  My mouth actually waters thinking about that meal, and it’s one that was made from scratch.  Mouths watering over school lunch all these years later says something 🙂

Anyway…and after our TV time, I folded laundry.  I HATE folding laundry.  Seriously, as Chris jokes, I put it off til the last 2 hours of the weekend every week and still complain about it.   But it’s done now and I’m watching Chelsea Handler and catching up on my fave food bloggies.  Chelsea just touched on the whole Jesse James/Sandra Bullock/skank scandal.  Have you seen the girl he cheated with?  Yikes.  And, she’s a white supremacist…um.  What?  I am so mad at JJ after seeing him tear up at the Oscars, even though he was a cheater.  I am SO not a fan of cheaters, at. all.

And on that note, I need to focus on Chelsea and take notes for my future career as an E! correspondent 😉 Have a great night bloggies!

 

2 Responses to “Back to the grind”

  1. my roommate sophomore year is the same way with folding laundry. so she’ll dump all the clothes onto the bed so she has to do it at least before she wants to sleep hah!

    hope you got a good night of sleep last night because tossing and turning and not getting comfy is the worst!

  2. divasrun Says:

    Wow, I never had chili or cinnamon roll day at school! It’s unfortunate that any kid has to go without a decent meal.

    That dip looks AMAZING!
    It ALL does! Sheesh! There you go again making me hungry! Just wait till I post my dinner from last night. You will be SO jealous! LOL!

    XOXO


Leave a Reply

