Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Only in Colorado March 24, 2010

That’s right, after the blizzard last night/this morning, the sun was shining high in the sky this afternoon. I spent the day working and on conference calls, but managed to sneak in a short nap and a quick workout at the gym this morning.   I was a bit disappointed in the gym, the treadmill actually shut off after 20 minutes!  Ridiculous!  I managed to get in 2.1 miles on the ‘mill and when I got back Chris and I made nachos for lunch. They contained “scoops” chips, beans, salsa, sour cream, nacho cheese, shredded cheddar, guacamole and a little spicy ranch, yum!!

And then it was back to work, and I snuck in my nap after lunch 🙂 It was quiet as I think many people were enjoying their day at home with their family…or were just ignoring my emails, who knows 😉

After my nap and conference call I had a quick snack of a small piece of Chocomize bar and a string cheese, my phone seems to have eaten the picture. Around 4:30 I decided it was quiet enough and I’d been working since 8:30 to go ahead and hit the trail around the complex to finish up my mileage for the day.  Hard to believe it was blizzarding last night as I was running in capris and a tee!  The foot or so of snow on the grassy surfaces was the only indication of the storm 🙂 I knocked out another 3 miles in about 29 minutes, for a total of 5.1 miles in 49 minutes today (about 9:51 pace).

After my run I picked up the living room and did some laundry (which reminds me, I need to put the washer load in the dryer, whoops). For dinner tonight, it was a breakfast night again. I made biscuits and gravy using my dad’s recipe.  First, I cooked a package of refridgerator  biscuits in the oven, as directed.  While that was cooking, I cooked up a package of locally made sausage.

Once the sausage was ready to go, I mixed up the gravy – this is 2 cups of milk and 4 tablespoons of corn starch:

Once the sausage is cooked through, remove it from the pan, leaving some of the drippings behind. Add in the corn starch and milk mixture (make sure to whisk the corn starch/milk as it will clump if you don’t). Keep stirring the corn starch and milk mixture until it thickens, this will happen pretty quick on medium-high heat.  Once the gravy is thickened add in the drained sausage…and the secret ingredient, a healthy tablespoon of butter.

Stir til hot through, and you end up with this, thick, yummy gravy!

The steps to making “pan gravy” with drippings from roasted turkey or chicken is very much the same, much easier than you’d guess!!

I had 2 biscuits topped with gravy and a few scrambled eggs (yes, with ketchup :))

Am I the only one who thinks about Bella in Breaking Dawn when I eat lots of eggs?  Maybe I’m a dork, but I can’t help but think of the scene in the book where she realizes….well, you know (don’t want to spoil it for the one person in America who hasn’t read the books), after eating all the eggs 🙂 Can’t wait for Eclipse this summer!!

In True Blood news – did you hear that Arlene may be killed off this season???  Apparently she’s doing a show on CBS or something, and her filming schedule overlaps the True Blood schedule, so E! is speculating that she’ll be killed off on True Blood, to open up her time for the CBS show.  Hmm….cannot wait for June to get here so we can see Season 3 unfold!

And with that, it’s time for me and my Reese’s PB cup to chill out and watch some TV.  Have a wonderful night bloggies, we’re almost to the weekend!!!

 

One Response to “Only in Colorado”

  1. EE Says:

    Happy weekend, Ms. Thang. Love the nachos. TCL is a nachoholic for sure.


Leave a Reply

