Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Appliance Love April 11, 2010

I’m having an affair.  That’s right, I’ll say it.  I love another…another appliance that is 😉  Today my love affair with the Cusinart Griddler blossomed into what seems like a love for the ages 😀

I slept straight through my long run this morning.  Does anyone else notice cut-back weeks are the hardest to complete?  Something about a 2 mile easy run or a 5 mile long run just seems unnecessary when compared with the rest of a training plan.  I know these runs are crucial to any training plan…but that doesn’t make them any easier to complete.  It also doesn’t help when there’s a snuggly husband in bed fast asleep and I just cannot bring myself to wake him.  So…when we finally woke up around 10 we finished off the last of the Krispy Kreme donuts from yesterday morning and I went to Wal-Mart to pick up some packing supplies for a “very important” Nintendo related package Chris has to mail out tomorrow.  Boys and their toys 😉

I tried to get a pedicure today after talking to Ellen about hers (seriously, there’s nothing more tempting than talking to someone while they’re in the pedi chair…it’s almost impossible to resist getting a pedi of your own at that point) but, by the time I got to the salon (at 10:59) there were already 6 ladies lined up waiting and the manager said his techs wouldn’t be showing up for 10-15 minutes.   Um.  No thanks!  So, I left pedi-less and grumpy.  I did score two really cute totes at Wal-Mart for $2 each.  I got one in black canvas and one in blue canvas – I think they’ll be perfect beach bags for our Key West trip!  After my Wal-Mart trip, I was even grumpier…why do people lose ALL manners in a discount store?  Chris and I have had a rough weekend with people about running us over in the parking lot, cutting in front of us in stores, etc….I was just ready to get home!  I made up for the crummy outing by firing up my appliance lover 😛

For lunch I made a recipe from the Cusinart Griddler cookbook, this was super simple and I think you could even make this in a saute pan and I highly recomend it.  The recipe called for fresh green beans, lemon juice, basil (I used an Italian seasoning mix from Cost Plus World Market), black pepper, a touch of salt and olive oil.

First, trim the green beans to remove the ends then toss in a bowl with some olive oil, just enough to coat.  Throw the green beans on the grill/pan/griddle for about 8 minutes or until marked and just tender.  Put the beans into a new bowl and toss with lemon juice, salt, pepper and basil/Italian seasoning.  Transfer to a serving dish and top with a little feta cheese.  Um, delish!!

Both Chris and I were blown away by these beans, I’m sure they’ll be making plenty of appearances on the blog.

I wasn’t done with the griddle yet – next, I made each of us a panini sandwich – Chris’ was a pita + salami + havarti cheese + Miracle Whip and mine was pita + turkey + havarti + light mayo + apple slices.  I added the apple slices after grilling so they stayed cold and crunchy –

On the side we had more apple slices, I am so glad to be seeing Pink Ladies at the grocery store again!

After lunch and a hilarious episode of Top Gear I conned Chris into a short nap, then it was time for chores.  As I type most of the laundry is already folded and the last loads are in the washer/dryer.  It’s not even 9pm…can you believe it???  I cleaned our fish’s tank, and then before I knew it it was time to make dinner. One of these may have made an appearance during chores…they taste like summer and are WAY too delicious.  When I saw them in the liquor case, all I could say was “they’re baaaaaaack” and smile like a crazy person 😀

We were going to have a coconut curry for dinner but something about the sauce just tasted off.  It had a black licorice after taste to it and neither of us are black licorice fans, nor did the sauce have any type of black licorice ingredient.  Too weird.  So, I made a quick fall back dinner of DIY Chinese restaurant fare – I grilled 2 chicken breasts on the open face plates for the Griddler (you can use it as a closed press for panini’s/grilling like a George Foreman Grill, or, you can press a button and it lays out flat with flat grill plates like a counter top electric griddle) and then tossed them with three sauces.  I made sweet and sour chicken, orange chicken and garlic teriyaki chicken which we ate over a mixture of white and brown rice and veggies.  Mmmmm!!  I love a good fall back plan.

My bowl also featured some pineapple tidbits which I grilled on the Cuisinart…see, I told you, I’m in love!!!  ❤

After dinner we tag teamed the kitchen clean up effort and it was done in time for The Pacific on HBO.  (and to see the season 3 sneak peak for True Blood, woooo!!) As Chris finished the dishes I whipped up some shakes for us – our shakes featured Ben & Jerry’s PB cup ice cream, almond milk, natural peanut butter, chocolate syrup and a banana.  Topped with whipped cream, of course.

And now, it’s time to wrap up this post and get ready for another crazy week at work.  It is hard to believe that the first quarter filing period is already upon us, we just finished up year-end a couple weeks ago.  This is the hardest time of year, coming off a 2.5 month push and having 6 more weeks to go before a real break.  At least there’s less than 10 weeks til Chris and I hit the beach for a week!  It makes everything seem a little more manageable with a fun trip to look forward to.  What are you looking forward to right now?

I hope you all had a great weekend, tomorrow’s a new week full of lots of new choices, new opportunities and new adventures – let’s make the most of them!

 

Leave a Reply

