Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Ick, Ick, Ick April 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 10:52 am

I have been fighting a sore throat/cough all week and this morning I succumbed and called in sick.  Last night I came home with barely any voice and this morning I woke up and it hurt my throat just to move/swallow.  Tomorrow’s a draft day so I’m trying to rest up today as tomorrow I’ll be at work no matter what.

Going back to yesterday, I had yummy oats for breakfast – my bowl contained 1/2 cup of oats, about 1/2 cup of milk, raisins, craisins and a diced apple. On top was a dollop of natural peanut butter and for sweet I mixed in about a teaspoon of maple syrup.  Oh yes, they were good oats!

Lunch yesterday was a turkey sandwich on a pita with havarti, light mayo and apple slices.

Something about the mayo + cheese + apple combo makes a perfect and delicious sandwich.   Just the right mix of creamy/crunchy/saltiness.

On the side I had baked doritos:

I also had green beans which I steamed in the microwave with lemon juice, italian seasoning and a little salt and pepper.  Not as good as on the grill, but still yummy.

Lunches like that with lots of elements and a good fruit/veggie/protein combo leave me in a good mood 🙂

Dinner last night was a repeat of our chicken enchiladas and rice earlier this week, so I spared you a picture 🙂  Leftovers are a big part of our dinner schedule around here, while I wish I could cook a fresh new meal every night it just doesn’t work for a 2 person household (I hate cutting recipes back, I’d rather have leftovers than have a flavor that’s off from the original recipe) and because working a minimum of 45-50 hours a week + commuting 10 hours a week doesn’t leave much time at the end of the day 🙂 Do you like leftovers? Chris’ dad won’t eat them…but thankfully Chris doesn’t mind them.

Ok bloggies, now I’m back to the couch and chillaxing.  I hope you all have a great Thursday…one more day til the weekend!

 

One Response to “Ick, Ick, Ick”

  1. divasrun Says:

    You’ve given me a great idea on how to use maple syrup!

    XOXO


Leave a Reply

