Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Anybody Out There? May 28, 2010

Hi bloggies!  I know it’s been far, far too long since my last post…but I’m baaaack!!!!

Things have been insane lately, I realized over the past 5-6 months (2nd week of January through this week), I’ve worked somewhere between 1,000 and 1,300 hours.  Add on 2 hours a day commuting 5x a week and we’re up to between 1,200 and 1,500 hours away from home!  Is that not insane?!?  Things are “calm” now until the second week of July and I plan to live it up.  I’m looking forward to having Saturday through Tuesday off from work, working a 3 day week next week, then two 4 day weeks, then a week in Key West!  At this point, if we did nothing but sit in our hotel room and watch TV for a week, I’d be happy…just to not have to use my mind!  But, I see a lot of sun time, good food and exploring ahead for us!

Last night we received our first veggie box delivery, we signed up for this service and our first haul was awesome.  We received:

  • 1 head red leaf lettuce
  • 6 roma tomatoes
  • 6 bananas
  • 6 gala apples
  • 1 box of strawberries
  • 1 box of blueberries
  • 1 GIANT bunch of spinach
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 giant onion
  • 1 bunch of carrots
  • 1 bag of fingerling potatoes
  • 2 zucchinis
  • 2 cucumbers

We also added on 1 pound of hamburger and 1 steak to our order this week, from this ranch.  As you know we generally shy away from red meat after learning more about the traditional beef production industry, but this ranch is what I grew up seeing on the side of the road when I lived in BFE small town CO 🙂  Ranchers who truly care about their animals and want them to have a good life, regardless if they are destined to wind up on a dinner plate.  Before ordering any beef both Chris and I read through the website and were both really comfortable ordering meat from them after reading about their grass feeding, pasture raising, and humane butchering policies.

All the fruits/veggies in our box as well as our meat we added on are organic and as local as possible (obviously, the bananas are not local, lol) throughout the year, the Door-to-Door owners scour the local farmer’s offerings and add on new items every week to keep things as local, seasonal and fresh as possible.  Chris and I were both surprised at how different it all looks coming from this service than the grocery store.  The way fruits and veggies were supposed to look!  I am sad we weren’t able to finish the house purchase as we would have had a great garden this year (or tried) but finding this service is a great fall back plan 🙂  I sprung into action last night and googled how to store my veggies the right way to make them last until we get another box next week.  I felt very “Rachel Ray” when I washed my lettuce and then wrapped it loosely in paper towels in a zip lock bag.

For comparative purposes, our whole veggie/fruit box is about $38/week.  This past week, I bought 6 organic apples at Whole Foods for $9!  The service doesn’t have a time commitment so we’ll continue to comparison shop but for now, I’m really excited and can’t wait to share new recipes with all our goodies this summer!

What have you all been up to?  It’s been forever since we “talked!”

If you have a chance, head over to Biz’s blog and check out the 101 day challenge! We’ll all come up with our goal for the summer- to work out 5 days a week, to modify our diet, etc and weekly Biz will update her blog.  I signed up as motivation for my upcoming 2nd marathon training cycle, there are some days in a 16-18 week training plan where you just don’t feel like running and being part of this challenge will definitely keep me accountable.  And really, will just plain give me an excuse to stalk Biz’s blog, her eats always look so decadent but are also really well portioned and great “compromises” between what is typically seen on a healthy living blog (salad, smoothies, etc) and comfort foods (steaks, fully loaded wraps, etc).

Ok bloggies, have a wonderful day and we’ll “talk” again soon!

 

3 Responses to “Anybody Out There?”

  1. Just found you! Cant wait to read more.

  2. Joanne Says:

    I really like those green boxes. I wish we had them in central NY but I no luck. It’s a chore to find a farmers market.

  3. divasrun Says:

    My life is boring. I’ve been mostly working and studying.
    Excited about my all girls all fun weekend, though! Been way too long!

    =)


Leave a Reply

