Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Safe! June 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 7:33 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

That’s right, I dodged the jury duty bullet yet again. I received…um, 10-12 summons while I was in college and hadn’t received one since graduating in 2005.  I deferred my February 2010 summons as I was up to my ears at work and feared the fall out more from my boss than I did from Uncle Sam and my number was up again today.  And I missed it!  I am taking a 1/2 day tomorrow to celebrate Chris’ birthday.  I see some 2 for $1 cupcakes from the Cookie Lady in his birthday future!  Normally, I’d bake for him but it got up to almost 100 here today and there’s just no turning on the oven.

Today was a hodge podge, I woke up and realized I forgot to send the auditors something on Friday and wanted to get it out ASAP today, so I managed to leave the house without my wallet and breakfast.  Ever the quick thinker, I made a cup of this tea at work:

(Source)

The jury is still out on this one.  It may have been that my cup wasn’t cleaned out from my last cup of tea at work, but it seemed to have an almost metallic aftertaste which wasn’t pleasant.  Have you tried this tea, what do you think?  Do you have a tea suggestion I should try?

Since you can’t make breakfast from just tea, I scrounged through my bag and of course I hadn’t remembered a piece of fruit today…so instead I had carbs and sugar – a Little Debbie oatmeal cream pie which had seen better days and a homemade granola bar.  I do have to admit I felt a wee bit ill after the combo.

I also remember oatmeal pies being much bigger and much more “worth it” tasting when I was little 😦

This is a weird week at work where I know next week’s going to be painful trying to hammer a bunch of stuff out before leaving for vacation but I can’t start on any of it til Thursday or next Monday as the numbers are still moving.  I also have a 1/2 day tomorrow and all of Friday off so I’m just antsy to be on the weekend!  I managed to get a lot of busy work done today and all told the day went pretty fast.  Well, the day went fast, the hours and minutes drug by painfully!

Around 11 I broke out some veggies from the veggie box and some unpictured ranch dressing.  Regular, full fat ranch.  I figure if we only eat a tablespoon or two with our veggies, the “real” ranch flavor is worth it.  And oh boy, was it!  Veggies with ranch is seriously one of the easiest and best snacks in the summer.

About an hour later I broke out my lunch – a few Ritz crackers, a few Wheat Thins and a sandwich thin with almond butter and jelly.

I also had some pineapple on the side, super sweet and juicy!

And then, it was all down hill from there.  Around 2 I got nibbly and bored.  I had eaten my snacks already and my snack drawer at work was down to old oatmeal and old hot cocoa packets after so many dinners at work.  I opened a pack of raspberry hot cocoa only to realize it tasted well….like the inside of my snack cabinet.  Blech!



I was still nibbly and knew the secretary probably had some candy on her desk and swooped a pack of Gobstoppers and a Sour Punch Straw.  I remember these straws from high school football games, ah, memories!

The rest of the afternoon passed uneventfully and I made it home in time to cook dinner.  I boiled, cleaned and mashed some potatoes into homemade gnocchis, made homemade tomato sauce and milked our dairy cow out back to make Parmesan cheese. I heated up a pack of gnocchis from Target’s pasta aisle, heated a jar of Bertolli vodka sauce and sauteed a few mushrooms.  I also made us some green salads with all the fixings from the veggie box and heated up some surprisingly good breadsticks we got at Wal-Mart (and froze) a few weeks back.  Simple and delish!

These breadsticks are really good, buttery, garlicy and chewy.  They are from a new line of products at Wal-Mart that the name completely evades me now. At our Wal-Mart they are in the actual bakery section and there’s a whole line of breads/rolls/buns/etc made fresh with mainly ingredients I can pronounce!  We tried the ciabatta rolls last weekend and they were really good, perfectly crunchy and chewy at the same time 🙂

and now, I need to get lunches together for tomorrow and get to bed!  Today was an SRD (scheduled rest day)  but I have 4 miles on tap for before work tomorrow, cannot believe marathon training starts again next week!

What did you have for dinner tonight?  I need some more hot weather ideas!

 

9 Responses to “Safe!”

  1. *knock on wood* i haven’t yet been served jury papers yet. as for dinner ideas…well grilling is awesome for the summer (and is what i had: grilled chicken, grilled corn and grilled squashes) but i think the heat from the grill + heat from the summer can be a bit much sometimes. oh well.

  2. Veronica M Says:

    I’m still laughing over the sentence you crossed out! Some days we just can’t do everything, even if we’d like to. Good luck with your marathon training! I did it once and that was enough for me–I respect people who run b/c I found it intolerable.

  3. CL Says:

    Yay for marathon training starting! Are you doing a similar plan to last time?

    I didn’t like the Vanilla White tea either. Summer foods… I love doing pasta salads for dinner during the summer – made one last week and tossed in some marinated chicken, veggies from Door to Door, and used a mix of low fat Ranch, FF balsamic, and a tablespoon of mayo. Made a ton! Love grilling over the summer, too – if you guys like salmon, one of my favorite salmon recipes is to grill salmon on cedar planks, spread with dijon mustard, and sprinkle with brown sugar. Yum. 🙂 Hope you are having a good week!

    • hogeruns Says:

      Yep! I’m doing a mix of Higdon’s Novice II and RW Smart Coach. I like Higdon’s long-run schedule and RW’s speed work schedule, I’ll post my plan next week when I start!

  4. Katherine: What About Summer? Says:

    mm I’ve been all about tea. I don’t usually grab fruit flavors or white teas though. I like the green tazo and their chai
    Katherine

    • hogeruns Says:

      I love chai! I am hooked on Oregon Chai but need to try some new varieties 🙂 It’s just so convenient because you can get a 3 pack of the concentrate at Costco!

  5. biz319 Says:

    I have never once been called for jury duty – and I am 42!!

    It’s chilly here today, so I have pasta with Italian sausage on the menu! 😀

  6. divasrun Says:

    My dad just got summoned, too.

    I LOVE that tea! I didn’t notice any strong flavor . . . did you steep it for too long?


Leave a Reply

