Hoge Runs…and Eats!

Just another foodie who loves to run!

Ouch :( July 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — hogeruns @ 7:21 am

Ugh, ouch, pain!!  I have the pleasure of being one of the lucky few who are afflicted blessed with canker sores.  I say blessed because really, how can you be thankful for having a pain free mouth unless you spend a week or so every other month with a canker sore? Really, you can’t 😉

When I was young I actually got horrific canker sores – we’re talking 6-8 at a time, can you imagine??  They were awful and I really don’t remember when they started, maybe middle school?  Finally in college I realized they weren’t going away and started Googling and asking my doctor what on earth I could do.  She suggested cutting out all white bread/pasta/rice, switching to a “natural” toothpaste (this was the late ’90s/early 2000s so natural toothpaste was unheard of really), avoiding acidic foods, etc.  I made a ton of changes and over the last 8 years (holy crap…it’s been 8 years since I graduated high school???) I am happy to say I now only get 1 or 2 canker sores at a time!  My dentist said they can cauterize a canker sore if I go in right when it starts but her office is 40 minutes south of my office building and quite frankly, cauterizing something in my mouth is more than a little freaky.

So, that’s been my week in a nutshell…dealing with the stupid !@#!@@# canker sore inside my lip.  Gross, I know, but I thought you all should know that I haven’t been taking food pictures/posting them because it hurts to eat, and talk, and just sit.

Ok, enough whining 🙂  Tonight C and I are heading to see Eclipse and then we’re dog sitting the rest of the weekend.  Not entirely excited about dogsitting the giant puppy dogbeast but I really think he only misbehaves because his owners NEVER exercise him (unless you count letting him outside to potty)..so I’m hoping that a few lively games of fetch in the backyard (he’s probably 90 pounds and I’m 100% positive he is not leash trained…otherwise I’d take him for a run) will calm him down.  Any other tips?!?

What are YOUR plans for the 4th? There are a bunch of free things going on around town – art festivals, parades, etc so maybe we’ll check out one of those!

 

2 Responses to “Ouch :(”

  1. thehungryscholar Says:

    Love the blog. My plans for the 4th? Alone time. I’m lame.

  2. divasrun Says:

    How did you like Eclipse?


Leave a Reply

